Filipino Friday 1

Filipino Friday is a segment that I want to introduce here on Filipino Book Bloggers to encourage communication and interaction among the members. I will post a question every Friday and members can answer in the comments and I hope discussion will ensue. Here’s the question for the week: What made you decide to start a book blog? I’m really curious since book blogs are starting to pop out left and right.

Members, you guys can reply to the question with a comment to this post or feel free to do your own post over at your own blog and just provide a link in the comments. 🙂

20 Responses to “Filipino Friday 1”


  1. 1 Chachic July 23, 2010 at 9:49 am

    I’ll start off the comments with an answer of my own. I’ve only been blogging for a couple of months. It all started when I wrote more book-related posts in my personal blog over at LiveJournal. Then I started leaving comments in other people’s book blogs and I realized that it would be better if I had a book blog of my own so I can connect with book blogger friends. I was hesitant to start one because I know that I’m not much of a writer. Thankfully, the book blogging community is very friendly and I’ve enjoyed my stint so far. 🙂 I love being able to talk about the books that I love because I don’t have a lot of friends who read so they don’t understand my fascination for young adult and fantasy novels.

  2. 2 maidenveil July 23, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I just started blogging earlier this year. Actually just right after new year! haha! I actually started off blogging because I wanted to join contests.. :p Blame the YA books and people, they are just so awesome! :p

    Then I saw some awesome blogs and tried it out. At first I just reposted my old and current reviews from multiply there. Gradually it unfolded as it is right now. I guess it would come from the love of reading, promoting good books, and meeting new bloggers. 🙂

    • 3 Chachic July 23, 2010 at 11:32 am

      I think most of us have similar reasons for starting our book blogs. We didn’t really mean to start them but we got encouraged by other people’s book blogs. It’s a double-edged sword though. Now we get a lot more recommendations so our TBRs just keep on growing. We also become frustrated when we see that the books that we want have already been released in other countries but they’re still not available here. Although in general, I think the positive aspects outweigh the negative. 🙂

  3. 4 Tarie July 23, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    My best friend encouraged me to start a blog — to really use one as an online journal. So I did. But I have always been a bookworm, so while I started off with many personal posts, it was just natural for me to blog about books, too.

    I have a more detailed answer to the question here:

    http://nathaliemvondo.wordpress.com/2010/02/22/monday-interview-tarie-from-asia-in-the-heart-world-on-my-mind/

    🙂

    • 5 Chachic July 23, 2010 at 6:54 pm

      Me too! I have always been a bookworm but it became more obvious when I started working because I had money to buy the books that I want.

      I checked out the link that you have and all of your answers were very interesting! I love that you decided to start your own blog about Asian children’s and YA books because you couldn’t find one that focused on those books. I saw Grace Lin’s book in the bookstore the other day and I was wondering if it was any good. Now that I know that you loved it, I’m adding it to my wishlist! I’m hoping to pick it up in one of the bookstore sales soon.

  4. 6 narj July 23, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    I created my book blog because I wanted to preserve the experience and the memory of reading a book. Even before the Shelfari age, I dreamed that one day I would be able to share my thoughts and opinion about certain books that I read. I just love writing a book rev, and I find myself secretly writing about a book in my office hours and I even compose my thoughts about a recent read while working on top of a tower. Another reason is that I was tired of writing crappy blogs (I have 2 personal blogs and a story blog) and reading other crappy “pajama blogs” — all that rantings and egocentric subjectivities of the youth.

    I wanted to write about something, about certain topics more than myself and I don’t mind if my contemporaries do not read my blog. I just wanted to preserve my current thoughts for my future children and perhaps my grandchildren to see what their father saw in this age of information overload.

    • 7 Chachic July 24, 2010 at 2:53 pm

      Me too! Unless a book has an impact one me, I usually forget what I think of it after some time has elapsed so a book blog is a great way to preserve my thoughts about it. I also find myself thinking of how I’ll write review while I’m at work or on the train on the way home. Just out of curiosity, why do you go on top of towers?

      I know my friends and family don’t really read my blog but I’m just happy to write my thoughts and to share my love of books to others out there who understand.

  5. 12 Tina July 23, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    I started posting book reviews in Multiply, then I moved them to my personal blog. Last year, when everyone was finding their own niches for their blogs, I wanted to make one of my own, but all I could think of was books. I finally jumped the gun this year when I realized my personal blog was being overrun by book posts. 🙂

    I realized that I love reviewing books. It’s hard sometimes, but it’s fulfilling to be able to write a review and influence people to get the book or at least spark a discussion about it. I also know that authors like reading reviews for their books, even there are already many reviews, and it’s nice to be able to reach authors that way.

    I guess blogging about books is a proof of my passion for the written word, just like everyone of us here. 🙂

    • 13 Chachic July 24, 2010 at 3:00 pm

      Hahaha it seems like we went through a similar process. I’m glad you found your niche and that book blogging suits you.

      I love reviewing books because I love recommending the ones that stand out for me. I never thought I’d do this, that’s for sure. I keep saying I’m not much of a writer but I hope that my book blog has helped me improve on that score. Yes, it always feels great when you get to influence someone to read a book or when a writer reads your review.

  6. 14 My Bibliophile Lobe July 25, 2010 at 10:58 am

    ooooo…good question, but I think you know the answer to this one.

    For those who doesn’t…
    I started blogging to get used to blogging. It all started in goodreads, a bunch of us decided to create a newsletter. This newsletter was going to be ‘published’ in blogging format, so I needed to learn…let’s say…the ‘industry’. There you go. I created my blog to get used to this whole blogging business. Not that good yet, but I know more now than I did before. ^_^

  7. 16 Honey July 26, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Hi, Chachic! I started my blog around 1 year and 7 months ago for a number of reasons:

    1) I joined Shelfari, which allowed me to go back to my passion for books.
    2) I joined FFP, which, for good or for ill, enabled and intensified by book addiction.
    3) I was immensely bored with my job that I felt I needed some kind of creative outlet. And what better creative outlet than to talk and write about my passion.

    I had sort of similar/different answers, which you will find here and here.

    • 17 Chachic July 26, 2010 at 2:50 pm

      I followed a similar path but it was my LiveJournal communities that allowed me to rekindle my love of reading. I then started to lurk in some book blogs. It’s funny but I’m also bored with my job! Blogging is definitely a creative outlet.

      Wow, you have a reading plan? I’m not that organized! I only have a shelf on Goodreads for books that I own but haven’t read and also one for my wishlist so that’s pretty much it for my TBR.

  8. 18 blurredlights July 31, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    I didn’t actually start a book blog, but I mostly blog about books, so…

    The inception of Taking a Break happened in an event where I met professional bloggers. They blog for a living. So I was intrigued about that possibility. I didn’t really take the making-a-living-out-of part seriously, but I started thinking about having a blog that wasn’t about my rants and raves in life.

    I actually started out with tumblr, and I was just going to blog about fantasy stuff–books, movies, tv shows. And then I realized that I don’t read/watch just fantasy. So I shelved that.

    And then I saw a certain book nook, where I started commenting. And then before I know it, Taking a Break was born.

    =)

    • 19 Chachic August 3, 2010 at 7:17 am

      Whenever I tell people about my blog or give out business cards, they immediately ask me, “so do you earn anything from your blog?” and I tell them no. I wouldn’t know how to go about that and I haven’t seen any other book blogs with that generate income through ads.

      Haha thanks for the shout out, I didn’t know my blog was such a big influence to your decision to make a book blog.


  1. 1 Filipino Friday 2 « Filipino Book Bloggers Trackback on July 30, 2010 at 9:36 am

Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 268 other followers


