Filipino Friday 3

It’s Friday yet again, book blogger friends and that means it’s time for Filipino Friday! To the new members, welcome! 🙂 You can view the other Filipino Friday discussions here. Feel free to leave comments anytime and to those who posted comments, thank you for your participation. Be sure to check back the post to see if someone replied to your comment.

This week, I thought we could discuss blogging platforms. What made you choose the platform that you use (i.e. WordPress, Blogger, LiveJournal or Tumblr)? In your opinion, what are the pros and cons of that platform? And lastly, do you cross-post your entries in other book-related sites like Goodreads and Amazon or social networking sites like Twitter and Facebook?

Hope you’re all having a great Friday, fellow Filipino book bloggers! 🙂

48 Responses to “Filipino Friday 3”


  1. 1 narj August 6, 2010 at 10:18 am

    I have yet to try other platforms but I think I’m sticking with Blogger as for now. So far I’m satisfied with its easy to use features and overall (blog) content management. It’s also easy to tinker with basic html codes in Blogger.

    I link my blogposts with my FB account. I only use Amazon for reference and for viewing other book reviews for my amusement (check out the current reviews on Dan Brown’s Lost Symbol).

    Good Friday fellow bloggers!

    • 2 Chachic August 6, 2010 at 12:30 pm

      Yeah, Blogger is pretty easy to use. I think the top two platform choices are Blogger and WordPress. I used to use Amazon for references and reviews as well but now I stick with Goodreads. Do you know that site? What’s great about it is when you click on a certain book’s page, you can see your contacts’ reviews and star ratings for that book. This is great if you follow several authors because you’ll get to see the books that they like.

      • 3 narj August 6, 2010 at 12:41 pm

        Goodreads looked like a good alternative to Shelfari especially if you want to be part of a privately owned social cataloging site (Amazon bought Shelfari).
        I’m tempted to try it. =)

      • 4 Chachic August 6, 2010 at 3:05 pm

        I have a Shelfari account but I no longer use it because I don’t have friends active there anymore. Most of the people I know use Goodreads and I’m active in a couple of groups there. There’s even a group for Filipino book addicts. 🙂

    • 5 Funandfearless August 6, 2010 at 12:36 pm

      Right. Blogger isn’t very hard to use. Hmm. If I remember right, I imported my blogs from Blogger to WordPress but I never had the memory to go back to the latter. Now I’ve already forgotten my password. T_T

      Wait, do you read reviews before or after you read a book?

      • 6 narj August 6, 2010 at 12:52 pm

        I read other reviews before buying and reading a book (usually for new authors). Doing it saves me more time (and money) from buying a mediocre book.

        Unless if the author is one among my favorites and he’s releasing a new book (or a new edition of his classic book), I don’t easily go and gamble to buy a new one.

      • 7 Chachic August 6, 2010 at 3:07 pm

        That’s what book blogs are there for, right? 😛 I mean we’re here to let readers make better decisions when it comes to buying books. They can be encouraged to buy books based on the strength of the book bloggers’ recommendations. I read reviews before I buy books because I want to know if what I’m getting is any good.

      • 8 narj August 6, 2010 at 3:34 pm

        good point Chachic. =)

      • 9 Funandfearless August 6, 2010 at 3:56 pm

        ^_^ I know it’s strange but I read reviews after I finished a book to see if I’ll agree with the reviewer. I want to have my opinion ready. And I’m scared of spoilers. T_T

      • 10 Chachic August 6, 2010 at 3:59 pm

        There are a lot of book bloggers who post non-spoilery reviews. I make a point to avoid spoilers and if ever I do post them, I give a warning before I mention something. Spoilers tend to ruin the reading experience. I also like reading reviews after I finish reading books to see if a reviewer felt the same way about the book.

  2. 11 aloi August 6, 2010 at 11:01 am

    i’ve tried quite a few. while i loved wordpress (pretty designs!), i wanted to get google adsense and the free account allow it.

    so, i turned to blogger – though its clunkier and less prettier! but adsense is in, and added bonus – amazon is linked within the platform! my challenge is tinkering with html .. so if anyone wants to help me out, give me a shout!

    i am totally in love with tumblr (oh those designs!) but just use it as a bookmarking tool. besides, i can’t agonize over ANOTHER move. too much drama.

    my blog is linked to facebook, anobii (kind of like shelfari) and twitter. but i can’t keep track of it all.

    have a great friday everyone!

    • 12 aloi August 6, 2010 at 11:01 am

      ooooh… i meant in the first sentence: wordpress’s free account won’t allow google adsense.

      • 13 Funandfearless August 6, 2010 at 12:14 pm

        Blogger has other cool custom designs. Right now I’m using Dream template and it’s been working pretty well. Sadly, I can’t use all the features offered by Blogger since they work best on default templates. Anyway, I like the clean, girly feel of your blog!

        About the HTML codes, worry not. It’s not too hard to tinker with it on blogger. There are tons of instructions on the net that cater to HTML newbies like us. ^_^

        Happy blogging!

      • 14 narj August 6, 2010 at 12:57 pm

        There are tons of HTML coding sites for free. Just Google it! =)

    • 15 Chachic August 6, 2010 at 12:35 pm

      Oh I didn’t know that WordPress.com doesn’t allow Google Adsense. Maybe blogs hosted at WordPress.org allow that kind of thing. I never tried it.

      I’m not really familiar with html either. Just the very basic ones. I usually just Google anything that I can’t understand.

      I have a Facebook page for my blog. Feel free to “like” it here!

  3. 16 Chachic August 6, 2010 at 11:02 am

    I use WordPress because when I signed up for Blogger, the username “chachic” was already taken. I like WordPress because of the built-in features like the stats monitor, the feed, the commenting system that lets people comment without a WordPress account, the ping that you get whenever someone links to your post, etc. Those are the ones that I can think of off the top of my head.

    I think Blogger is the easiest to use and there are some Blogger widgets that can’t be included in WordPress like the followers widget. I have no idea how many follow me through Google Reader and that’s a shame. Although I’m not that concerned with stats anymore as long as people leave comments in my post. 🙂

    I post all my reviews in Goodreads (feel free to add me if you have an account) and my LiveJournal for the benefit of my friends list. Also, my Twitter is tied to my WordPress and there’s an automatic tweet for every blog post that I publish.

    • 17 Funandfearless August 6, 2010 at 12:02 pm

      But Blogger also has a commenting system that allows anonymous comments. Although I have to say that the combox isn’t very visually appealing. That’s the reason why I installed Disqus as my comment platform. You may want to sign up for one. It’s cool. Wait, am I already going off-topic? ^_^

      • 18 Chachic August 6, 2010 at 12:19 pm

        Oh really? Because I use my Google account to comment in Blogger because the two sites are tied. I like WordPress’ commenting system because it allows commenters to leave their email address and website when they comment. And it’s not like Blogger where another page pops up when you want to leave a comment.

    • 19 Funandfearless August 6, 2010 at 12:31 pm

      The type of comment page depends on the blogger actually. One can choose to have the pop-up or the full page or the one embedded below the post. What I don’t get is why some Blogger blogs have a drop-down list where a commenter can choose to subscribe to the comment thread using various accounts and some do not. I can’t find that option in the Settings tab. (‘.’)

      Well, yeah. The pop-up seems awkward though. ^_^

      • 20 Chachic August 6, 2010 at 12:36 pm

        Sometimes I find the pop-up comments page a hassle but I always make a point to leave comments whenever I have something to say. That usually happens when fellow bloggers review some of the books that I love.

  4. 21 Mika August 6, 2010 at 11:48 am

    Sometimes I wonder if I’m a social media monkey. Haha. I started my personal blog on LiveJournal in 2004, which is just about as random as it could get. I love LiveJournal, because it’s so easy to use, I could view my friends’ pages on a single separate page, and it has evolved into a niche of communities sharing the same interests (great for my fangirl fixes!).

    I tried WordPress out of curiosity and the best thing about it is the suite of statistical info I could get. I’m still new to it, since I just started a couple of months ago, but if I did have a “public” online persona, then it’s got to be my nook on WordPress. Blooey (sumthinblue.com) got me into book blogging.

    And then I have Tumblr, which I love for reblogging images and such. And Twitter—haha, how verbose most one be? Because of all these, Facebook is boring in comparison. Haha.

    I don’t link my posts to Twitter or Facebook. I prefer segmented audiences and avoiding content clutter (I know, it’s counter-intuitive in Social Media). Sometimes I’ll cross-post on LiveJournal and WordPress.

    • 22 Chachic August 6, 2010 at 3:12 pm

      I think a lot of us started personal blogs at LiveJournal around that time. That’s still the blog that I use to cross-post my entries but all of the personal entries have been locked. I love that you can view your friends’ pages in one page. That’s why I still won’t let go of my LJ even though I already have WordPress. By the way, do you use Google Reader? You can add the feeds of the sites that you follow and it works just like your LJ friends page, you only need to go to one site to check all the sites.

      I don’t link my posts in my personal Facebook account but I do that in the Facebook page of my blog. 🙂 I tell my friends who’re interested in my blog to like that page so they can be updated.

  5. 23 Funandfearless August 6, 2010 at 11:59 am

    I’ve been using Blogger ever since I started blogging and I love its user-friendly features. But sometimes, I get envious of those who use WordPress because I still can’t make the Blogumus work on my blog. Yes, I need your technical expertise, fellow bloggers. ^_^ And yes, I can get pretty shameless at times.

    When I post reviews of the books I read, I get the photos (sometimes with the product description or reviews or discussion questions) from Goodreads or Shelfari or the author’s website. I also import my blogs to Facebook which no one cares to read. (Apparently, I can also be pretty bitter too!)

    • 24 Chachic August 6, 2010 at 3:21 pm

      What’s Blogumus? Sorry I can’t help you with that, I don’t even know what it is. LOL.

      I get photos by searching through Google images and I usually get the summary of the book from the author’s website. If it’s not available, I use Goodreads. I have a feeling that I link my posts in my personal Facebook page, no one will respond either. That’s why I created a separate page for my blog, which can be liked by those who are interested.

  6. 26 Tarie August 6, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    I use Blogger because it is so easy to use. I’m a tech dummy! I share my author and illustrator interviews through Twitter and Facebook. 🙂

    I use Tumblr for my visual diary. Cause Tumblr is cooooooool.

    • 27 Chachic August 7, 2010 at 5:27 pm

      I’m not much of a tech person either, Tarie! You don’t have accounts in book-related social networking sites like Goodreads or Shelfari? I don’t have a Tumblr account because I have too many already (WordPress, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, etc.)

  7. 28 Tina August 7, 2010 at 1:19 am

    It’s not Friday anymore, but still posting! 🙂

    Anyway. Like what I said in the Goodreads discussion we had yesterday, I’m a WordPress girl. I’ve been using WordPress (and its predecessor, b2) since…2001, I think? Ever since I moved out from Blogger, I’ve been a WordPress loyalist, and I like it because it’s easy to customize (at least, self-hosted ones are), and there are a lot of functionalities I can add (plugins) that cannot be found in Blogger. I know how to program, so hacking WordPress is easy for me, and I think I still know how to play with themes. I can’t imagine not using WordPress anymore. 😀

    Tumblr is more of my random stuff. I still have a Blogger account, though, because I can’t bear to part with the stuff I wrote there. 😛

    • 29 Chachic August 7, 2010 at 6:00 pm

      No worries, you can post anytime!

      That’s the only thing I didn’t like with a free blog at WordPress – you can’t tinker around with it with CSS unless you pay. LOL, I’m not good enough with html so I don’t think it’s worth paying for. Good thing I’m satisfied with the themes that they have. It’s enough for me to change the banner.

  8. 30 fantaghiro23 August 7, 2010 at 5:57 am

    Sorry to come in late! Friday was a tad hectic for me. Anyway, I started with Blogger, also because I heard it was the easiest to use. And I’ve stuck with it because I’m just too lazy to transfer my entire blog to another site. Besides, for my needs so far, I’m pretty satisfied with Blogger.

    But I do have a wordpress blog–a couple, in fact. One of them is my backup, and the other I made for a work project. I like the stats features and the templates of wordpress, so I actually recommend it to people who ask about blogging platforms. But I’ve still stuck with blogger. I use Google analytics if ever I’m interested to look at my stats.:)

    My blog’s linked to Facebook’s Networked Blogs. And I post any new review I have at Twitter. Oh, I have tumblr, too, but like the others, I mostly use it as a bookmarking tool for the non-book-related articles I like. And I use Google reader to keep track of my subscriptions and the blogs I follow. Though because I have a lot of subscriptions, if I don’t open my reader in something like 3 days, it begins to look overwhelming.

    • 31 Chachic August 7, 2010 at 6:06 pm

      Honey, you can leave a comment anytime. 🙂 Friday was hectic for me too. Hope you’re having a good time unwinding this weekend.

      Yes, Blogger seems to be the popular choice because it’s the easiest to use. I know that you can use Google-tied programs for it (like Google Analytics and the followers widget).

      How do you register for Facebook’s Networked Blogs and what is it really? I just did a Facebook page for the blog because I saw other bloggers doing it. Also, I can tell my friends to just like that page. I also use Google Reader and I follow a lot of blogs. I get A LOT of updates when I don’t check it for a day so I’ve organized them into folders so I can check them per group.

      • 32 fantaghiro23 August 7, 2010 at 7:36 pm

        Hmm. Can’t really remember exactly how I registered. I think I just saw the NetworkedBlogs icon, clicked it, and when it asked for my blog url, I put it in. Or something like it. Anyway, it’s convenient because soon as I post something new on my blog, NetworkedBlogs picks up the feed and posts it on Facebook. I think followers can also sign up through Networked blogs, and you can install a widget on your blog to show the followers through Facebook.

        Re Google reader, yeah, I also have folders. But, like I said, I have a lot of subscriptions, so the folders thing doesn’t really help, because I always have an urge to read everything.:) Course, I could always delete subscriptions. Maybe when I get tired of reading too many blogs, journals, and book sites.:)

      • 33 Chachic August 8, 2010 at 12:28 am

        Hmm Networked Blog sounds interesting but since I already have a Facebook page for the blog, I think that’s good enough for now.

        I have a folder for the book bloggers that I really like, I mean the ones who I feel read the same kind of books that I do and I read those first when my Google Reader becomes overwhelming. But yes, it’s fun to subscribe to a lot of blogs!

    • 34 Tina August 7, 2010 at 9:34 pm

      Though because I have a lot of subscriptions, if I don’t open my reader in something like 3 days, it begins to look overwhelming.

      I know exactly what you mean. I think I subscribe to too many blogs and I don’t have enough time to read them all. ^^

  9. 35 maidenveil August 7, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Hmm.. I’ve been using blogger ever since I knew what ‘blogging” meant, but I’ve never been into it until recently. I guess because of familiarity and most of the blogs I’ve seen are from this platform so I joined the bandwagon. ;D

    Although I also tried wordpress, tumbler and I have an existing wordpress and LJ that well..dormant. :p

    • 36 Chachic August 7, 2010 at 6:07 pm

      It’s funny how you have accounts in the different platforms but they’re inactive. I guess most people have things like that. Like I have a Shelfari account but I don’t check it anymore.

  10. 37 blurredlights August 7, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    hmm. i’m using wordpress for my book blog because it’s a platform i haven’t tried yet. and that’s probably a weird reason.

    i have accounts everywhere. i started at blogger, but hated how it looked. so i discontinued that. i tried geocities, building a site from the ground up, but i found that i didn’t have as much patience as i thought.

    from there, i moved on to livejournal for my personal blog. i’m still there, actually. and i have inactive accounts on friendster, myspace and hi5. i have a multiply site for my photos, a tumblr site for my stories, and twitter and plurk for random things — like promoting a blog post.

    i’m not a fan of cross-posting though, so i usually limit my shameless plugging on twitter and plurk.

    • 38 Chachic August 8, 2010 at 12:29 am

      Geocities! That’s such an old school site. Funny that you should mention it here but I think most of us had Geocities accounts back then.

      I’m still on LJ too! I’ve built a pretty solid f-list over there and I would never get rid of that account because of the friends that I’ve found and my personal posts.

      • 39 blurredlights August 8, 2010 at 11:42 am

        haha, a lot of people did for sure. 1998 to 2002 were the years where everyone wanted a piece of internet property. and this was the time that friendster was just starting to get popular here. geocities was the old friendster.

        i started mine with the intention of turning it into a site that would have updates on what’s going on in the lives of my friends. because people, for some reason, kept asking me about so-and-so. but, as i mentioned before, i lost the patience for it. =)

        livejournal is great with its friends lists and privacy settings. unlike you though, i’ve lost a lot of lj friends over the years. some of them are now exclusively on facebook, some on tumblr, and some on posterous. me? i’m not leaving livejournal to the day it dies. or i die. whichever comes first. =)

      • 40 Chachic August 8, 2010 at 1:33 pm

        Oh I’ve lost plenty of real life friends over at LJ. Back in early college, all of us blogged about our lives but then Multiply and then Facebook came along and that’s where most people are today. I have book communities in LJ and I’ve met wonderful book friends because of them. So they’re not real life friends but they’re awesome all the same. 😛

      • 41 blurredlights August 8, 2010 at 2:21 pm

        my communities over at livejournal are mostly tv-based. but even my online friends have moved on. i think i only have a couple of them still actively blogging. some blogs once in a while.

  11. 42 Aldrin August 7, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    I signed up for and tried nearly all blogging platforms in existence, from the popular (WordPress, Blogger) to the obscure (Moonfruit, Squarespace), but I ultimately settled for Tumblr.

    WordPress.com, with its tried and tested blogging dashboard with support for numerous plugins, was apparently the most robust, but I found out that it required a considerable fee in order for a custom domain name, which I had been holding to for quite some time, to be used for my blog. I figured I should instead use self-hosted WordPress (i.e., WordPress.org) with my custom domain name, but that would also entail fees, monthly at that. So, I turned to Blogger. For a while I was satisfied with Blogger: it let me use my domain name for free, it boasted smooth co-operation with other Google applications, and it was fairly easy to customize. But no sooner was I completely settled than I caught wind of a relatively new blogging platform called Tumblr.

    The first thing I noticed when I tried Tumblr was how pretty it is. I was just blown away with how tidy Tumblr’s interface looks, from its minimalist dashboard to its collection of beautiful themes. Oh, and it also let me use my custom blog URL, so I jumped in away. It wasn’t long before I got involved with the community built into the platform, which let users “follow” other users as well as “like” their posts, and met wonderful people I wouldn’t have otherwise known, some of whom stopped being purely URL friends and became my IRL pals in no time.

    Tumblr supports automatic cross-posting to Twitter, so that’s one less social media task for me. I also cross-post my reviews on Goodreads, through which I’ve met a great many fellow book bloggers, including Chachic and Tina. 🙂

    • 43 Chachic August 8, 2010 at 12:35 am

      I don’t even know what Moonfruit and Squarespace are. Aww too bad WordPress didn’t work out for you. I’m not much of a techie person so it’s fine with me. I’m the least techie ECE graduate that I know. 😛

      I think Tumblr must be fun if you have an account but for an outsider, it’s pretty confusing. I remember when I comment in some of your posts, I’m always lost as to how I go about the process. It’s great that you’ve found real life friends from Tumblr though. I wish I could meet up with some of my book bloggers but most of them live in the States.

      Isn’t Goodreads amazing? 🙂 I’m active in a couple of groups there.

  12. 44 Mark David August 8, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    I use WordPress because I enjoy the flexibility of working with my own theme and layout. It also seems to be a very solid platform, and there’s tons of support available on the net.

    • 45 Chachic August 8, 2010 at 10:32 pm

      I’m envious of all of you people who have designing skills. I wish I was as talented as you guys so I can design my own blog. I feel like I’m not taking advantage of WordPress’ full capabilities because of my lack of skills. LOL.

  13. 46 narj August 10, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    this is a bit late but judging by what i saw, Tumblr is indeed cool! I will use it if I want to make a photo blog someday. +_+


  1. 1 Tweets that mention Filipino Friday 3 « Filipino Book Bloggers -- Topsy.com Trackback on August 6, 2010 at 4:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 268 other followers


