Polilla de Libros

Blog Name: Polilla de Libros

URL: http://polilladelibros.wordpress.com

Location: The Southern Part of Metro Manila, mostly. (And in my mind, the world is my playground.)

Brief Description: I’ve come to terms with the fact that my To Be Read pile will never disappear, largely because of the habit of acquiring new books (and not reading them for months, as the need to either work or rest gets in the way). When I find/make time to read a book, I’ll probably write about what struck me most about it. (And for those who wonder, “polilla de libros” is “bookworm” in Spanish.)

Favorite Authors: Milan Kundera, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Kahlil Gibran, Sylvia Plath, J.K. Rowling, Jeanette Winterson, Haruki Murakami, Banana Yoshimoto, Muriel Barbery, Marisha Pessl, Margaret Atwood, Elizabeth Kostova, Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Stieg Larsson, and Sophie Kinsella (for my chick lit fixes). I also have a soft spot for poetry.

5 Responses to “Polilla de Libros”


  1. 1 Chachic August 8, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Polilla de Libros sounds so exotic! But maybe that’s because I just don’t know Spanish. I can definitely relate to the ever-increasing TBR situation. I have so many books that I own that I haven’t gotten around to reading and there are still more books in my wishlist. I have a feeling I’ll always have a pile of books lying around in my room.

    I have two chick lit authors that I’d like to recommend. Have you ever tried reading any of Julie James or Jennifer Crusie’s books? 🙂 They’re lots of fun! I don’t really read a lot of chick lit but I decided to give them a try because of all the great reviews and I’m glad I did.

    • 2 Mika August 8, 2010 at 1:02 am

      I have a feeling I’ll always have a pile of books lying around in my room.

      And that is why book lovers never go to bed alone.

      I’ll make mental notes of your chick lit recommendations. Kinsella’s the only chick lit author I read, largely because she’s the only one I can digest (can’t stand the un-funny whiny, neurotic territory where other chick lit writers dare to tread—largely because I think I’m un-funny and neurotic. Haha.).

      • 3 Chachic August 8, 2010 at 1:35 pm

        And that is why book lovers never go to bed alone.

        I know, right? We’ll always have a book (or several) with us.

        I don’t know why but Kinsella isn’t that great for me. The two chick lit authors that I mentioned are the ones that I find funny.

  2. 4 Mika August 9, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Haha, OK, I’ll check them out sometime! I have a 20 or so book backlog right now, so we’ll see when I can fit in some new acquisitions.


Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 268 other followers


