In Lieu of a Field Guide

Blog Name: in lieu of a field guide

Blog URL: http://booktrek.blogspot.com/

Location: Palawan

Brief Description: Hi, I’m Rise. I’m based in Puerto Princesa. My natural habitats are bookstores and libraries. I usually feed on books in translation, though science books are also part of my diet. My blog contains “field notes” to the books I’m reading.

Favorite Authors: César Aira, Saul Bellow, Thomas Bernhard, Roberto Bolaño, Jorge Luis Borges, Javier Marías, João Guimarães Rosa, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, José Saramago, W. G. Sebald, Natsume Sōseki, Wisława Szymborska

5 Responses to “In Lieu of a Field Guide”


  1. 1 artseblis August 10, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Read the blog of Rise. TATALINO kayo!

    I’m serious. This is one intelligent book blogger. When I read his blogs, I realize how I only manage to skim the books I read. He sees and points out what most readers would miss.

  2. 3 Rise August 10, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Ouch. Salamat sa pag-indorso, artseblis. Lumaki ang ulo ko. Hehe.

    • 4 aloi August 16, 2010 at 12:37 am

      I second the motion. I am embarrassed to even say that I read chick lit! Rise has a lot of cerebral reading … and I am a better reader because I am an avid blog stalker!

      • 5 Chachic August 16, 2010 at 7:32 am

        I don’t think you should feel embarrassed by the books that you read. 😛 I always say it’s just a matter of taste and people like different books because we can’t all like the same thing.


Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 262 other followers


