Filipino Friday 4

Good morning, fellow Filipino book bloggers! I hope you all had a good week and hope we’ll all have an even better weekend. πŸ™‚ We have a couple of new members that joined the group this week and let’s all give them a warm welcome. Feel free to check out the introductory posts about them and leave comments. You might find someone who shares your favorite authors. Thanks to everyone who posted about Filipino Book Bloggers in their blog! It’s always good to spread the word about this site. Also, I’m going to put up a new banner soon. My graphic artist friend is still working on it.

The Filipino Friday topic that I want to throw out is this – How has blogging changed your reading habits? Do you read different books now that you have a blog? I know we all get a lot of recommendations from fellow bloggers and I wonder if some of you read books that you aren’t familiar with based on someone else’s glowing review. Have you found the genre that you feel like you enjoy reading the most because of trying out these recommendations? Also, do you get to read less because of blogging? We all know it takes time to write and post a review and that can eat up reading time.

That’s it. If you guys have follow-up questions, include them in the comments and I can edit this post to add them later on. Have a happy Friday the 13th, folks! πŸ™‚

29 Responses to “Filipino Friday 4”


  1. 1 blurredlights August 13, 2010 at 10:03 am

    I’ve actually started reading more now that I’m blogging about the books I read. Before starting Taking a Break, I was on an average of four books a month–or less. A sad fate since I devoured books by the dozen per week back in high school and college.

    So yes, blogging about the books definitely changed my reading habits in that I try to find more time to read now. So that’s a good thing.

    As for the type of books I read, I still read most everything. So that didn’t change. =)

    • 2 Chachic August 13, 2010 at 1:53 pm

      Hahaha, I remember last January, I only read 4 books in one month. I think I was in a sort of slump back then. Good to hear that you’re reading more because of blogging!

      Do other bloggers’ reviews encourage you to read books that you wouldn’t have discovered otherwise?

      • 3 blurredlights August 13, 2010 at 4:34 pm

        well, me resigning from my last job also helped with the freeing up of schedule to read. of course, that was two months ago. now, i’m back to scrambling to find time to finish everything. haha.

        it depends on a bloggers’ review. there are times when i would find the reviewed book interesting, but not interesting enough for me to buy it.

        so far though, most of the books i’ve read reviewed are books i’ve already read. =)

  2. 4 narj August 13, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Writing a book blog is a good compliment to my reading habit. Though blogging has affected my reading time, there’s still one major factor that stole MOST of my time and that is WORK. Just like the majority of book readers here, I also developed my reading habits at the time when there’s no work and when there’s a lot of time to study more.

    My case is different with book recommendations from fellow bloggers because I’m still skeptic with all the hordes of new books released monthly though I gambled with Hunger Games last year and I liked it. This year I took a book challenge to read new (and old) authors and I think its enough for me to officially challenge myself and try other genre.

    • 5 narj August 13, 2010 at 11:39 am

      correction:
      Writing a book blog is a good COMPLEMENT to my reading habit. =P

    • 6 Chachic August 13, 2010 at 2:04 pm

      Yes, I would have to agree, work gets in the way of things! In my previous job, I had to work long hours so I didn’t have much time to read. I could only read during the weekends if I didn’t have weekend work. My current job has more normal working hours and I could read more because of it.

      LOL, but that’s the reason why book bloggers are out there, to narrow down your selections. Their reviews should help you select what books to get. The trick is to find book bloggers that share your taste in books so it’s more than likely that you’ll enjoy reading the books that they recommend.

  3. 7 Chachic August 13, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    I can definitely say that blogging has affected my reading habits. I’ve discovered a lot of recent favorites because they were recommended by fellow book bloggers. Whenever I discover someone who seems to like the same kinds of books that I do, I always check out their list of favorites or high recommended books because I feel like I will like those as well. I’ve been right so far. πŸ™‚ On one hand, I think it’s great that I’m discovering books that I never would’ve heard of if it wasn’t for the blogosphere but on the other hand, I’m having a hard time keeping track of my TBR and my wishlist! They grow faster that I can read or buy books. Although I think that it’s something that I need to learn how to handle. πŸ˜›

    I also started reading more because of blogging. In my head, I keep track of the number of books that I read in a week based on the number of reviews that I post. When I feel like I haven’t posted a review in a while, I feel pressured to finish reading a book as fast as I could.

    I could say that I have less time to read because of blogging, not just because I need to write my own posts but because I follow so many other blogs! It takes time to read and comment on the ones I’m interested in. But it’s all good. I love interacting with fellow book lovers because not a lot of my friends read the kind of books that I do so I get excited when I get to talk about the books that I love with other people who understand the feeling.

    • 8 blurredlights August 13, 2010 at 12:21 pm

      i guess we deal with blog inactivity differently; i don’t want to rush reading books as i tend to nitpick certain details. so if i rush, i might miss out on something, and then i might end up not like a book.

      so when i feel as if i haven’t posted in a while, i blog about a tv show or a movie instead. πŸ™‚

  4. 9 Funandfearless August 13, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Being a constant tightwad, I don’t usually go for brand new books. So I always go to Book Sale. (At least I would feel less guilty if I happened to pick up something disappointing.) And I usually go for books about artists. Sometimes I choose novels about families but I always go back to those art-related novels.

    Blogging somehow reminds me of how slow I am at reading. It’s frustrating to see the date on the last post being more than two weeks old. So like Blurredlights, I blog about other things.

    Recently I have come up with a new reading scheme. Although, I like art fiction so much, I don’t want to read an art fiction immediately after another art fiction so I decided to read anything in between. ^_^

    • 10 Chachic August 13, 2010 at 6:44 pm

      I love checking out Book Sale branches. I’m sad that there isn’t a branch in Trinoma because I always pass by there on my way home from work. Used bookstores are the best. You feel like you’re hunting for treasure when you browse through their shelves.

      I do that too sometimes. I usually try to put up at least one non-review post every week to liven up the blog a bit.

      I know what you mean. I like alternating YA and fantasy books so I don’t feel “umay” (is there an English word for that?) on one genre.

  5. 13 thegrayspots August 13, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    The internet has drastically changed the way everyone reads now (am making a hasty realization in this techy-savvy world), as it has changed mine. Before, it used to be a physical effort to “discover” or unearth new books that interest me because I try to browse ALL the bookshelves, go through interesting book covers and titles before flipping to the back for the synopsis. Or, I’d hear about it from a friend. Now, book blogs have risen! There are already websites for every book promoted well, especially for the pop culture hits. Am overwhelmed na nga because there are lots of ways na to find out about books πŸ™‚

    • 14 Chachic August 13, 2010 at 6:49 pm

      I still browse through bookstores because I love looking at all the books in there. But now whenever I’m browsing, I take note of the books that I want to buy and then I check them on Goodreads when I get home. πŸ™‚ So I can see what my Goodreads and book blogger friends say about the book before I get it. Before I discovered Goodreads, I would check out reviews in Amazon. My advice is just stick with one book-related social networking site so you won’t get confused.

  6. 15 Tina August 13, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    Having a more book-centered blog helped me read more, that’s for sure. And it helped me to be accountable to my goals. Before putting up One More Page, all my book reviews go up on my personal blog (www.refineme.org), and they’re not really that detailed. When I put up my blog, I felt the need to write more detailed reviews, to focus on what worked and didn’t work and all that.

    Book blogging also definitely helped me discover new reads, books that I would rarely look at. For example, I don’t think I would have read Hunger Games if I didn’t read it from my friend’s blog. πŸ™‚

    As for how much I read, yes! I used to read about a book a week, now I read about 2-3 books a week. πŸ˜€ I wish I could just sit at home or somewhere else and read all day, but work calls, and I need to fund this vice. πŸ˜‰

    • 16 Chachic August 13, 2010 at 9:45 pm

      When I started my book blog, I also joined a couple of challenges to encourage me to read more. But now I’m okay with just reading the books in my mountain of a TBR.

      Yes, I don’t think I would’ve given The Hunger Games a try if it wasn’t strongly recommended by a lot of reviewers. That and it was closely promoted with Graceling because they came out at the same time and they both have strong female protagonists.

      I read around the same amount, 2-3 per week, depending on my mood and whether I have plans on the weekend. I know! If only we could earn money just by reading, right? We’d be millionaires! πŸ˜›

      • 17 Tina August 13, 2010 at 10:49 pm

        I honestly want to file a one week leave then go to a beach or retreat house or something with books (and book-loving friends, too) and just READ. If only that were possible now. πŸ˜›

        I think after this year, I’ll go and try to finish off my TBR pile. I have some books from 2 years ago that I don’t think I’ll read anytime soon. Heee.

      • 18 Chachic August 14, 2010 at 12:36 pm

        I want to do that too! Maybe later on, I don’t have any vacation leaves left for this year. Haha don’t worry, I have books from three years ago that I haven’t read! It’s funny because I feel like I keep saying “I have this book but I haven’t read it” in my comments to other people’s reviews. I keep buying books and the old ones get bumped down my TBR.

  7. 19 fantaghiro23 August 13, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    You know, I honestly don’t know. I do know that joining Shelfari and reading book blogs has caused me to buy more books and, of course, try new books. But whether keeping a book blog has changed any of my longtime reading habits, I’m not sure. Mainly because I think reading habits are changeable in themselves, depending on your life situation or experiences.

    Like, when I was in high school or college, I’d read 2-3 books a week, since I had the time. Then when I started to work, I barely read 10-15 non-required books a year. And when I went back to grad school, I started reading more again and read like 1 book a week. During the first year of my blog, I read 10-12 books/month, because I had a personal challenge and I felt like I had to read as many books as I can so I could get to both my TBR books and the ones recommended by friends and book bloggers.

    Now, I’ve come to the point when I read whenever I feel like it and don’t feel guilty if I don’t feel like reading. Oh, I also used to buy loads of books from Book Sale like most of my book friends. But now, I mostly buy new books. This is my logic: if I buy at Book Sale, I get 10-13 books amounting to at least P500. If I buy brand new books, I spend the same amount on 1 book. But, that’s one book I’ll read, as opposed to the 10-13 books that, realistically, I might never get to and will just take up shelf space. To my mind, that’s more value for money.:)

    • 20 Chachic August 14, 2010 at 1:07 pm

      Hey, that’s an interesting idea, Honey. Reading habits do change based on where you are in your life right now. I don’t know why but I didn’t have a lot of time to read during college. I think because aside from school work, I was also active in several extra-curricular activities. The rest of the time, I liked hanging out with friends. In my previous job, I didn’t get to read a lot because normal working hours were around 16 to 20 each day. Now, I’m glad I have more time to read and yes, I read whenever I feel like reading. πŸ™‚

      I know what you mean about buying used books! That’s why whenever I browse through used books, I keep telling myself, “Yes, it’s cheap but are you going to read it anytime soon?” so I’ll end up getting only the books that I really want.

  8. 21 maidenveil August 14, 2010 at 10:49 am

    So far, since I started blogging I read more often than before. And the books to read are piling up faster than I can read. Not that I’m complaining…it’s my wallet that’s already crying. :p So to make the story short, blogging in general exposed me to more wonderful titles to read, and somehow got me to read more! πŸ˜€ It’s also wonderful that in having a blog you get to share what you have read and looking forward to. So the stuffs a bit contagious. πŸ˜€

    • 22 Chachic August 14, 2010 at 1:20 pm

      I guess it’s safe to say that most of us read more because of our blogs. πŸ™‚ I would have to agree that my bank account has been complaining because of the number of books that I buy. I heard one book blogger comment on Twitter that maybe she should just give her salary directly to the bookstore. Haha.

  9. 23 narj August 14, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    hey chachic! just saw the new banner!
    back to nature, minimalist. ayuz!

    • 24 Chachic August 15, 2010 at 12:02 am

      That’s not it! I was trying out other themes and that was the default header in one of them. Let me put up the new banner and write a post to announce it. πŸ™‚

    • 25 Chachic August 15, 2010 at 5:21 pm

      The new banner is up! I even wrote a post about it. I also changed the theme of the blog because the old theme (PressRow) is no longer available. I think it looks nicer this way.

  10. 26 aloi August 16, 2010 at 12:36 am

    Blogging has definitely made me more aware of some great reads out there, so it challenges me to take on books I otherwise would never even think to read.

    Reading has also changed from a mainly solitary activity, to something that I can share!

    And I have read more books as a result!

    • 27 Chachic August 16, 2010 at 7:35 am

      Hey Aloi, thanks for jumping right in the discussion. I just noticed that there hasn’t been a post about your blog though. Can you please send an email to filipinobookbloggers(at)gmail(dot)com with the following details: Blog Name, Blog URL, Location, Brief Description, Favorite Authors and tags for what genre your blog caters to? πŸ™‚

      Yes, reading is much more fun now that you can share the experience with others! Whenever I finish reading a good book, I always want to rave about it but not a lot of my friends are willing to listen so it’s good to have a venue for that kind of thing.

  11. 28 Mel u August 20, 2010 at 7:06 am

    blogging has greatly expanded my reading habits-it is great to be able to share our experiences-

    note to local amazon customers-I have found the regular mail from amazon as fast and reliable as the priority based on 4 orders so far

    • 29 Chachic August 20, 2010 at 7:44 am

      Yes, it’s always a good idea to discuss our love of books with those who understand how it feels like.

      How long does regular mail take to get here? Isn’t shipping expensive from Amazon? I’d much rather give the Book Depository a try now that they deliver to the Philippines because they have free shipping.


Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers


