Filipino Friday 5

Hi everyone! It’s an overcast Friday morning but I think the weather is perfect for staying indoors and curling up with a good book (after we’re done with work, of course). I’m sure most of you have noticed the new banner that we have. To those who aren’t aware of it, click here to find out more about the banner. Also, the old theme that was used for the blog was gone from WordPress’ list of themes so I thought I’d give the site a makeover while changing the banner. Hope you all like the way it looks now! Check if your blog is listed in the blogroll. If it’s not there, there probably isn’t a dedicated post about your blog so send an email to filipinobookbloggers(at)gmail(dot)com with the details about your blog.

On to the Filipino Friday topic! This week, I thought we could talk about posts. How often do you write posts for your blog? Do you have a set schedule like everyday or three times a week? Do you follow memes that occur on certain days? I know that bloggers have memes for certain days like Teaser Tuesday, Waiting on Wednesday, Book Blogger Hop and In My Mailbox. Do you try to make it a point to put up non-review posts from time to time to have variety on your blog? Feel free to put in any other thoughts about writing posts on your blog.

Happy Friday, Filipino book bloggers! 🙂 To those who weren’t able to answer the past Filipino Friday questions, you can answer them anytime. Also, I encourage all of you to check the posts and reply to other people’s comments.

38 Responses to “Filipino Friday 5”


  1. 1 Funandfearless August 20, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Good morning! ^_^

    I don’t usually have a schedule for posting in my blog. I blog when there’s something worth blogging. But in the case of having the post more than a week old, I blog about anything. Perhaps my motivation to post an entry is to see something new on the home page.

    About memes. I have posted one entry for Enbrethiliel’s Locus Focus every Friday on her blog, Shredded Cheddar. But it’s quite hard for me to review settings since I haven’t read a lot (or enough). And now they have a theme every week so that just made it harder. But I like to read their posts. Having a meme on my blog sounds interesting. Maybe I’ll have it one of these days. ^_^

    Hey, can we have another weekly meme on Filipino Book Bloggers? ^_^ Ideas just flashed in my mind but I’m afraid you’ll find them laughable. =p Haha! Happy Friday, everyone!

    • 2 Chachic August 20, 2010 at 11:31 am

      Oh so your goal is to have something new at least once a week? I know what you mean when you haven’t posted for a while, it feels like you need to write something new.

      Yeah, it’s good if you come up with your own meme. 🙂 I like having my own meme and it feels good when other people are interested and they participate. Memes are meant to be spread.

      What’s your idea for Filipino Book Bloggers? Suggest anything that you think is interesting!

      • 3 Funandfearless August 20, 2010 at 12:00 pm

        Haha! You’re right, Chachic! It’ll be really great if others will join too. And that’s actually one big reason why I don’t host memes – no one will join. ^_^ I’m thinking of a Theme Song Thursday where peepz can review a book by giving it a theme song. Well, if movies have their OSTs, then so can books . . . Would you believe I actually have to ask a colleague about her opinion on this idea so I’ll know if it’s that ridiculous. ^_^

      • 4 Chachic August 21, 2010 at 10:51 am

        Haha not a lot of people join my meme either but I still push through with it because I like the idea. That’s a great idea for a meme! But unfortunately, I don’t think it’ll be a good idea to host it in this blog. I’m sure you’ve noticed that we read books from various genres so it’ll be hard to pick a book that’s familiar with everyone. Maybe you can host it on your blog instead? 🙂

      • 5 Fuanndfearless August 24, 2010 at 6:50 pm

        Hmmm… I think that’s fine. So if I’m doing it then I have to increase the items in my music databank. And prepare drafts. ^_^

  2. 6 Chachic August 20, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I try to write posts at least once a day but it doesn’t always happen. There are days when I haven’t finished reading a book or I can’t come up with something interesting so I just let it go. I post around two to three reviews per week and I usually do a non-review post at least once a week for variety.

    If I’ve acquired several books during the week, I do the In My Mailbox meme hosted by The Story Siren, which shows books that you got for the week. I used to do Waiting on Wednesday, which shows books that you can’t wait to be released but I decided to come up with my own meme called Want Books to feature books in my wishlist so I usually post about books that are already released but aren’t available over here. Everyone’s welcome to join that meme, in case anyone is interested. 🙂 You can post during any day of the week but I put up mine on Saturday, with a roundup of all those who did Want Books posts. From time to time, I also do a Retro Friday post, hosted by Angieville, where participants review a book that isn’t that popular.

    I also have a feature called We Love YA, where I ask a fellow YA lover to do a guest post for me. I try to post this during Fridays. Haha so basically, weekends are meme/feature days for me.

    • 7 artseblis August 20, 2010 at 12:01 pm

      “I post around two to three reviews per week and I usually do a non-review post at least once a week for variety.” — That’s so cool! You’re a very energetic writer, Chachic, with excellent substance in what you share.

      I tend to be standoffish in my blogging, not really talking to readers, just musing digitally. I book blog for the practice of writing and as a personal challenge to write something about every book I read. Also, I feel like I’m giving something back to the world for giving me such nice books to read if I share what I think and feel of books I’ve just read.

      I don’t have a schedule at all. I blog when I’m not too lazy to blog. *hayz* So many interesting things to do. I want to do them all. And I end up tired. *hayz*

      • 8 Chachic August 21, 2010 at 11:00 am

        Aww thank you for the compliment! I love interacting with people in the blogosphere, especially those who read the same kind of books that I do. Whenever I finish reading a good book, I always feel like I want to talk about it. I guess I’m just an outgoing person in general and that shows in my posts.

        I think it’s great that we have different reasons for blogging because we’re all different people, right? 😛 Don’t feel too pressured to blog! You should be able to do the things you want when you want to. But yeah, I can understand not having enough time to do everything that you want.

  3. 9 amaterasureads August 20, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    I follow memes, so I usually post once a day, except for Thursdays and Saturday, and then the usual reviews which I post twice a week. I share the blog with another friend so the reviews tend to double (4 to 5 if we’re on a roll) but if we’re busy, then its 2 reviews per week. So yeah, I guess I do have a schedule. I try to put new content in my blog as much and as often as I can.

    I do a In My Mailbox post though immediately after I get books so if I get books twice in a week, then I post a IMM meme twice. I’m not sure how some people do it, I think they just post one entry of all the books they got in a week? I occasionally have spazz post of books I really want to read!

    • 10 Chachic August 21, 2010 at 11:09 am

      What are the usual memes that you participate in? Oh it’s good that you share the blog with a friend. You probably have more posts because two of you are at it. I used to do more than one post a day but now I don’t know where I got all that energy. LOL.

      Yes, usually people just collect books for a week and do one IMM post for the entire week. I’ve seen other people do an IMM post for two weeks if they missed out on the previous one. I usually do an IMM post every Sunday but I’m so proud of myself because I haven’t bought any books this August. 🙂 So no IMM for me for several weeks now.

      • 11 Kai (Amaterasureads) August 21, 2010 at 7:59 pm

        Oh, I participate in Its Monday What Are You Reading?, Teaser Tuesdays, Waiting on Wednesday, In My Mailbox, Follow Friday and your meme, Want Books? so basically I have a post for almost every day of the week.

        Yeah, its much easier to have a co-blog author/co-reviewer since we post reviews faster, so the blog’s bursting with activities all week. I usually post IMM on demand, but I want to create a schedule (I want to “schedule” my book buying too if I can XD)

      • 12 Chachic August 22, 2010 at 4:45 pm

        Wow, so many memes! You have one for each day! So you probably do more than one post a day, huh?

        Haha no need to schedule your book buying unless you have a huge TBR already! I’m trying to work on my TBR and when I have it down to double digits, I might be persuaded to get more books.

  4. 13 Mel u August 20, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Normally near daily-I read a lot of short stories so it is easy for me to post daily –

  5. 15 narj August 20, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    I don’t schedule my blogposts.

    I write only when I feel like I need to preserve an idea, or when I need to unload a burden, or when I want to debunk an idea of another author. And a zero post in a month only means that I’m busy with my work.

    Memes are ok, and other non-review posts as long as they are still book-related. I can only think of one post in my blog that is not book-related.

    I have about two or three main categories of blog posts that are part of a series that keeps me to blog monthly and I hope it will last for a long time. Much as I like reading short posts, I want to write posts that are straight to the point and less wordy.

    Happy Friday people!

    Not Book Related SHAMELESS PLUG:
    (If you’re near World Trade Center-Pasay me and my Team will be there this afternoon for the 3rd CAMPI annual motorshow. Let’s play hide-and-seek!) http://campiauto.org/motorshow/ =P

    • 16 Chachic August 21, 2010 at 11:13 am

      It’s good that you don’t get pressured to write a post! I can’t imagine having nothing new on the blog for a month. But yes, work is more important because that’s where we get money to buy the books that we review. 🙂

      There are a lot of book-related memes out there and maybe you’ll be interested to participate in some of them. I know that a lot of people participate in memes to generate traffic on their blog but I like memes because they’re fun. As long as blogs don’t post just memes.

  6. 17 isaw08 August 20, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Hi!

    I only post entries when I finished a book and when I bought a new book. Like artseblis, I post also I am not feeling lazy. Heh. 🙂

  7. 19 thegrayspots August 20, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Ever since I joined this community, I’ve been inspired to post at least once a week! I’m in a reading frenzy now, thanks also to my bookworm sister who’s my partner-in-crime in buying books! I’ve lots of stuff to post, and i’ll squeeze in all that I can in between work and rest 🙂 I’m subscribed to book-related tumblrs, and there’s a never ending stream of information that i can’t wait to share 🙂

    • 20 Chachic August 21, 2010 at 11:17 am

      Hi thegrayspots, sorry for this question but I’m wondering which is your blog in the list? 🙂 You can enter it in the URL section whenever you leave comments.

      It’s good that your sister is also a bookworm! I don’t have a sister but I can just imagine how awesome it is to have someone near who shares your love of books. Plus, you get to share the cost of buying books too!

      • 21 thegrayspots August 22, 2010 at 7:52 pm

        oops, i forgot to put the link of my book blog. i think by default when i log in to wordpress, my personal blog shows up. i’m tabbed books! 🙂

        yup, having a bookworm sister rocks. it’s “conjugal” property!

      • 22 Chachic August 23, 2010 at 8:33 am

        Thanks for the link! Sorry I got confused with the username. 😛 I wasn’t sure who you were.

  8. 23 Tarie August 20, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Once a week. * embarrassed *

    But hey, in my defense, I have like four blogs (three bookish, one personal)! So that’s once a week or so for each blog. And I have been invited to join one blog on TV shows, movies, and plays . . .

  9. 27 maidenveil August 20, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I try to make a post each day. But usually I try to set-up a scheduled post in advance like 2-3 days ahead when I have something prepared/in-mind to post. Usually I post news that come up on the day itself or something I really want and/or need to post. 🙂

    • 28 Chachic August 21, 2010 at 11:22 am

      You know what, I wasn’t even aware of scheduled posts until a few days ago! So I haven’t taken advantage of that blogging feature. LOL. I have several drafts up in my blog but I don’t schedule my posts. I like to post them manually instead so I feel accomplished when a post goes live.

  10. 29 blurredlights August 21, 2010 at 10:38 am

    No schedule. There are times when I’d have something new to post everyday, but there are times when the blog would be quiet for days at a time.

    But I make it a point not to let the blog sleep for more than seven days. So if it’s the seventh day and I still have nothing new to write about, I’ll write about something old. =)

    I’m developing a personal “meme”/contest for my blog, which I’ll probably start this coming September. =)

    • 30 Chachic August 21, 2010 at 11:24 am

      Oh so you post at least once a week, right? I get pressured when I feel like I haven’t posted for a while. But now I’m thinking maybe it’s better to just have 3 or so posts a week so the visitors that drop by won’t be overwhelmed by the number of posts.

      Let us know about your meme or contest when it’s ready!

      • 31 blurredlights August 21, 2010 at 1:08 pm

        at the very least, yes, once a week. =) but i prefer posting once a day. it’s the mentality i developed while working for a local entertainment website that had to have four new features every day. it’s hard to shake of three years of training. haha.

        and about the “meme”/contest, i want to see if the mockingjay giveaway works first to see how often my “meme” would appear. =)

      • 32 Chachic August 22, 2010 at 4:37 pm

        Well, it’s good that you had that kind of training! You get to think up of more fun ways to write posts in your blog.

        How is your Mockingjay contest by the way? You’re going to pick a winner tomorrow already! 🙂

      • 33 blurredlights August 23, 2010 at 9:12 am

        still five entries! haha. oh well. hopefully, there’ll be more participation in my next contest/”meme” =)

      • 34 Chachic August 23, 2010 at 9:36 am

        LOL maybe you should’ve spread the word more? I don’t get a lot of entries in my contests too because they’re local. I only get around 12 or so. But I still plan to have another giveaway in September, I need to get rid of the books that I don’t want to keep.

      • 35 blurredlights August 24, 2010 at 1:48 am

        haha, I guess I should. But I think it’s better to have five entries who wanted to win the book enough to actually find the contest, than have dozens of entries because I pimped the contest everywhere. =)

        I’m having my second competition on September too–but won’t pick a winner until October. That’s my “meme”/competition thing. Will explain more in September. =)

      • 36 Chachic August 24, 2010 at 8:40 am

        I know I posted your contest in Facebook and on Twitter and I’ll do the same with your new one. 🙂 It’s good that you’re doing contests for the sake of giving out books and not because you want to gain more followers.

  11. 37 fantaghiro23 August 22, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Hi! Sorry for the late post, but it’s been a crazy weekend. Anyway, obviously I post whenever I feel like it. I used to pressure myself to post at least every week. But then when life gets busy and there’s the unnecessary pressure to come up with a post, blogging stops being fun. So, I post whenever I can or whenever I feel like it.

    I used to join memes, like Teaser Tuesday, partly to meet more people in the blogging community and partly to get more traffic. Now, though, I prefer not to join memes anymore. I already follow enough blogs and I’d rather not worry about traffic. However, I do still join the community events, like BBAW. If Bloggiesta and Dewey’s 24 hour readathon roll around again, I’ll be joining those again, too. I like the community interaction. It’s like an online international conference.:)

    • 38 Chachic August 23, 2010 at 8:42 am

      Yes, exactly! Blogging stops being fun when you get pressured to do things so I try not to pressure myself. If I don’t have a post up then I don’t worry about it. I’ll post when there’s something worth posting about.

      I join memes for the same reasons that you mentioned. But now that I have enough bloggers in my Google Reader, I don’t participate as much as I used to. I used to worry about my stats as well but I don’t notice it as much anymore. Oh I joined BBAW also! I’m so excited to see what they have lined up since this is the first time I joined. I already sent my judging form. I also joined Bloggiesta a few months back and I plan to join again at the end of the year. They do it every six months, right? I’ve met so many great people because of Bloggiesta. We still chat from time to time over at Twitter. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 262 other followers


