Filipino Friday 6

Hello fellow Filipino bloggers, it’s Friday again and the start of the weekend! I’m sure a lot of us are looking forward to the long weekend ahead, which will ensure several hours of reading. 🙂 I also know that several bloggers were excited with this week’s release of the highly anticipated, final installment in the Hunger Games trilogy, Mockingjay (no spoilers please!) and to anyone who’s interested, there will be a book launch on Sunday, August 29, 1-5pm at Bestsellers in Robinson’s Galleria. I know several Filipino book bloggers are planning to attend the event.

For this week’s Filipino Friday, I though we could discuss followers. Do you keep track of the number of followers of your blog? Somewhat in relation to that, do you watch over your blogs’ stats and how many hits you get per post? Do you feel sad if your blog doesn’t have a certain number of hits per day or you just shrug it off? Do you have a target number of comments in each post? I know most of us blog to share our love of reading and I’m just curious if stats are really important. Feel free to discuss anything else related to this topic. I’m sure several of us follow other book blogs, I wonder how many do each of us subscribe to? Do you comment on these blogs or are you happy with just lurking? Would you care to name some of your favorite book blogs?

Sorry for the plethora of questions! I just wanted to throw out everything that can fall under the topic. You can add anything else that you can think of. 🙂 Happy Friday, everyone and enjoy your long weekend!

35 Responses to “Filipino Friday 6”


  1. 1 Mel u August 27, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Yes I watch my follower numbers using Google follower and I also check Google’s webmaster tools to see my subscriber numbers-of course I am happy when my blog slowly grows its readership

    related question-do others use third party soft ware like sitemeter to see where their visitors come from geographically, what refers them to the blog, what posts they look at and how much time they spend on your blog-google stats in blogger will only show some of this-I think part of the measure of the success or value of a blog to your readers comes from seeing how long they spend on your blog-of course their are a lot of factors involved in all this

    • 2 Chachic August 27, 2010 at 10:51 am

      Do you use Google Analytics on your blog? I heard that’s what other Blogger users use. I don’t use Sitemeter but WordPress’ built-in stats are pretty detailed. It doesn’t include the location of the visitors or how long they spend on the blog but it lists down the links that people use to direct them to your blog and search engine terms that they use to find the blog. I have ClustrMaps though to see where my visitors are based but it’s not very detailed.

  2. 3 Mrs.B. August 27, 2010 at 8:10 am

    Yes, I watch my follower numbers too and I use sitemeter just to see how people find my blog. I love it when people follow and comment. Just feels nice that people are interested in what I have to say or take up a book I highly recommended.

    I also just started Mockingjay last night! I don’t want to read any spoilers either. I didn’t even read the back cover.

    • 4 Chachic August 27, 2010 at 11:02 am

      Hmm this is the second time Sitemeter has been mentioned here, maybe I should check it out? It definitely feels nice when people comment because you feel like you’re saying something worthwhile.

      Still haven’t started on Mockingjay but I hope to do so this weekend!

  3. 5 Chachic August 27, 2010 at 9:32 am

    WordPress doesn’t allow us to add the widget for Google Followers so I have no idea how many follow my blog through Google Reader. This used to irk me but I’ve learned to live with it. WordPress has a built-in monitor for stats and this is what I use to keep track of how many people drop by my blog everyday. I used to check it a lot to find out if people read my posts but I don’t do it as much. I love getting comments and I’m thankful if there’s at least one comment in an entry. 🙂 I reply to all the comments in my post. I also like that when someone links to a certain post of mine, WordPress lists it down in the comments section.

    I love following other blogs and I leave comments on the ones that I follow frequently. I also like following author’s blogs. Some of my favorite book blogs are Angieville, See Michelle Read, Book Harbinger and Janicu’s Book Blog because I feel like they like the same kinds of books that I do.

    • 6 Mel u August 27, 2010 at 11:00 am

      Blogger about a month ago just added a really nice stats feature that is super easy to use so mostly I use that-I have been using sitemeter a long time-I like to see how long people spend on my posts and blogger stats do not give me that but sitemeter does-also sitemeter tells me what city a person is from which I find fun to know-also sitemeter tells me where the visitors goes when they leave my blog-it also has nice built in graphic features so you can track daily visitors etc-also I can see the in many cases the IP provider used by the visitor which can be interesting also-

      I used to have flagcoutner on my blog also but it was slowing down the loading time of my blog too much and taking up to much space so I cut it-

      • 7 Chachic August 27, 2010 at 11:06 am

        Wow, Sitemeter is pretty comprehensive! You find out so many details about your visitors, it’s like reverse stalking. 😛 I’ll keep that in mind and maybe I can also use Sitemeter later on. I’m still okay with the blog stats in WordPress for now. I just want that Google followers widget.

  4. 8 Mel u August 27, 2010 at 11:13 am

    I really like the Google followers widget also-I try to follow back who ever follows me-

    another use for tracking software is you can see if one of your old posts is getting some hits and you can then post a link to it on Twitter-

    Also for example I just did a series of post on Indonesian Women Short story writers and with sitemeter and blogger stats I can see people who have never been to my blog before coming to read them and I find that gratifying-

  5. 10 Tina August 27, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    I check it every now and then, and right now I’m pleased at the followers my blog has — it’s actually doing a bit better than my personal blog. ^^ Right now I have four ways to track followers/hits/anything similar:

    1. Sitemeter – my old default counter — very useful with referrals
    2. Feedburner – counts the RSS feed subscribers that are not using Google Friend Connect
    3. Google Friend Connect – added that lately, because everyone seems to have it. ^^;
    4. Slimstat – a WordPress plugin that shows me a more accurate trend of my views/visits compared to the previous month

    I kind of wish I get more comments in my blog, since I feel it’s the only thing that’s lacking. But I think it may be just me. I’m not really a comment poster on other blogs, except for people who I always visit, or if the review/book post really moved me or something, so it kind of follows that people don’t really comment on my blog, either. I get more comments in the reviews I post in Goodreads, but that’s because I know the people there really read it. Oh, and it’s always flattering when I receive a comment from the author (and sometimes embarrassing if the review is not so good!).

    • 11 Chachic August 27, 2010 at 10:27 pm

      Wow, you use so many programs! I’m jealous that self-hosted WordPress sites can use Google Friend Connect but free WP.com users can’t use it. 😦 Also, I can’t use any plugins, right? Oh well, that’s the downside of using a free blog site.

      I’d love to get more comments to my posts too but I don’t know how I can encourage people to do that. Do you reply to comments in your blog? I get more comments on my blog than Goodreads but then again, I’m not that active on Goodreads because I get lost when there are so many replies to a thread!

  6. 12 Funandfearless August 27, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Good afternoon!

    I used to be very conscious about the number of my Followers.(I told myself that I’m lucky if I will be able to get least 30.) And I feel happy every time another one clicked the “Follow” button. Then I check out their profiles and I follow some. At times I feel guilty when I don’t follow a long-time follower. But, I think following should be done because of interest and not just for a mere exchange.

    I use Feedjit to keep track of my visitors – where they came from, what they searched to land on my blog and how long they stayed. I used to rely heavily on Google Analytics but I prefer to have something that I see immediately on my site. I also use the flag counter. It’s so cool when a new flag gets added to the list.

    I follow any kind of blogs. As I’ve said earlier, I follow when I’m interested. Most of the times, I comment. I don’t subscribe but I make sure to read the posts that interest me. Here are some of the book blogs I follow, to name a few:

    Shredded Cheddar by Enbrethiliel
    The Polysyllabic Spree by Aldrin
    Coffeespoons by Fantaghiro23
    Bookmarked by Sumthinblue
    In Lieu of a Field Guide by Rise
    and . . . Chachic’s Book Nook

    • 13 Chachic August 27, 2010 at 10:58 pm

      Yeah, you shouldn’t feel guilty about not following other people! You shouldn’t be pressured to follow them just because they follow you. 🙂 And yes, I agree that you should follow someone because you’re interested in following them and not just to return the favor. Otherwise, you’ll probably just skip their posts in Google Reader.

      Oooh I’m not familiar with Feedjit but it looks like it’s pretty specific.

      LOL it’s funny that you had to name my blog as the last one. Thank you so much for following my blog! I really appreciate having followers because it makes me feel like my posts are worth reading.

      • 14 Funandfearless August 31, 2010 at 1:57 pm

        I love Feedjit. Try it.

        ^_^ LOL! I was actually doubting if I should really name your blog. I’m afraid putting that either on top or the bottom of the list would sound patronizing.. ^_^ But I do like reading other bloggers posts. It’s just hard to comment especially when I don’t have any significant thing to say or when I'[m multitasking, i.e., reading posts while working. ^_^

  7. 15 Mika August 27, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    I do check my visitor stats, but I don’t get really affected by it. I mean, cool if there’s a spike in visits, but I don’t really mind if I get zero visitors in a day. I used to have SiteMeter on my (other old) blog, but I removed it. I guess I didn’t want to be too paranoid when I found out I had visitors from Malacañang and Afghanistan. Haha.

    • 16 Chachic August 27, 2010 at 11:16 pm

      It’s good that you don’t get bothered by the number of visitors in your blog! I try not to get affected by it as well. LOL it’s funny that you don’t want to know where your visitors are from.

      • 17 Mika August 28, 2010 at 9:58 pm

        Haha, I consider myself an anomaly when it comes to social media. I don’t like spillage of content from one platform to another (e.g. I refuse to put the Networked Blogs application on Facebook so the world will be updated with my posts). And after six or so years of blogging, I just really don’t mind who views my online presence—I think it’s more of desensitizing, as opposed to not really caring.

      • 18 Chachic August 29, 2010 at 1:56 am

        I don’t like linking my social networks too although my Twitter and Goodreads is tied to my blog. And I created a Facebook page for the blog so other people who don’t have any other means of following can just like that page and be updated.

  8. 19 Kai August 27, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Yes I do! At first I’m pretty excited about it, but I’m not really bothered if I don’t have new followers anymore. I use Google’s Friend Connect to check if I have new followers (very handy!) and I usually get a few during FF (Follow Friday)! It kinda feels great knowing people subscribe to your blog. ^^

    I check my website hits once in a while though, and I signed up in another website for a hit counter and I get e-mails every week analyzing my website traffic (which is pretty cool) so I can pretty much tell what day people tend to visit my blog the most. I’m not really into the stats anymore, but like I said, it feels good if your site traffic’s gradually increasing.

    Sitemeter seems very nice to use! (Maybe I should use that instead?)

    • 20 Chachic August 27, 2010 at 11:33 pm

      Yes, it’s great to have people subscribe to your blog and even better that you can keep track of them using Google Followers. Like I said, I’m sad that WordPress doesn’t have that feature.

      I know, Sitemeter seems pretty interesting and really detailed. I can probably look into it later on. I’m not that concerned about stats right now though.

  9. 21 fantaghiro23 August 27, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Hey, all.:)

    I used to keep track of how many hits I got per day through Sitemeter, too. But it went wonky when I installed Google Analytics, so I took it out. Analytics, which is still what I use now, is also pretty comprehensive. Tells me who visits me from where and what got them there.

    I check it for the love of checking data, but I’m ok with getting only a few hits (or none, if I don’t post for while) per day. I just like the idea that some app is gathering data for me, if I want it.:) I also used to do the game of joining memes or going blog-hopping and commenting just to get more followers. Not anymore, though. Trying to simplify my blogging life. But I don’t mind meeting more Pinoy book bloggers. They’re the group I’m interested in right now. (Only ’cause I’m out to prove that Filipinos ARE readers. heehee.)

    • 22 Chachic August 27, 2010 at 11:37 pm

      Looks like you can’t use both Sitemeter and Google Analytics at the same time! Which is better for you?

      Same here. I used to do memes and blog hops to generate more followers but I don’t think it really works. I mean, sure, you get a lot of visitors when you join memes but you don’t necessarily gain more followers. I remember you were the one who mentioned BBAW and Bloggiesta last time! I love those kind of things because it feels like an online conference of sorts.

      LOL why are you out to prove that Filipinos are readers? I know that there are a lot of Filipino readers out there, we just don’t get to connect as much as we’d want to.

      • 23 fantaghiro23 August 29, 2010 at 10:40 pm

        I’m out to prove that Filipinos are readers because the general assumption outside of us book readers is that Filipinos aren’t. Wrote about it on my blogiversary. Though the 2007 readership survey of NBDB does show that Filipinos read, it shows that very few read for leisure.

        Personally, I’d like to show that the numbers have changed now or do something to influence the change in numbers.:)

      • 24 Chachic August 30, 2010 at 4:18 pm

        Yes, I’d like to think that those numbers have changed! I think there are a lot of Filipino readers out there (look at the members of both FFP and Filipinos Goodreads), we just don’t know about them. That’s why I think it’s great that there are so many Filipino book blogs popping out here and there. 🙂 It proves your point that we do read for leisure.

  10. 25 Candy Gourlay August 27, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    i stopped using google analytics because it slowed my blogs to a crawl. the recent brouhaha in which blogger did an upgrade and forced old bloggers (i’ve been blogging for years) to move their blogs to new blogspots has lost me a huge number of followers and i am currently too busy to work on building audience! but never mind – i’ve started a new blog focused on readers of my book. slowly but surely i hope to build a readership. meanwhile, i’ve begun to neglect my blog on writing for children, book marketing and getting published even more than i neglect my children!

    • 26 Chachic August 28, 2010 at 6:46 pm

      Hi Candy! Thanks for dropping by Filipino Book Bloggers! 🙂 So you had your blog transferred to a new blog spot? I didn’t know that Blogger had that issue! That’s crazy! I mean it’s such a hassle to worry about lost followers and how you can gain them back. Is http://candygourlay.blogspot.com/ your blog for your readers? LOL I can just imagine how hard it is to keep up with more than one blog! I only have one blog and this site.

  11. 27 blurredlights August 28, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    i don’t keep track of followers, but i do take notice if certain people are commenting more than others. =) i do keep track of the stats though: the number of visits, and which blog posts they take time to visit, as well as the search words they used to find my blog.

    it’s helping me decide if i should get my own domain. =) if it’ll be worth it.

    • 28 Chachic August 28, 2010 at 6:49 pm

      Oh so you keep track of comments more that followers? That makes sense, I guess. Although I know that there are people out there who are more of lurkers and they read posts but don’t comment.

      LOL I’m not even considering getting my own domain. Maybe later on when I feel like there’s a need for it. But right now, I’m still good with what’s free.

      • 29 blurredlights August 28, 2010 at 9:20 pm

        Just to see who are very active at commenting =) But I can see from the stats that most people just lurk and don’t comment. =)

        And I’ve always wanted a domain of my own, even when I was just blogging personal stuff. But now that I’m doing this book/movie/tv show blog, I’m really considering it. =)

      • 30 Chachic August 29, 2010 at 11:05 am

        Really, you’ve wanted a domain even for your personal blog? Just a note though, I don’t think you can use your free WordPress.com blog for a self-hosted site. You have to transfer to WordPress.org for that one. Don’t quote me on this though as I’m not entirely sure.

      • 31 blurredlights August 30, 2010 at 7:46 pm

        Yep, you’re right. I’d have to transfer to WordPress.org if I get my own domain. But I don’t think the domain thing is happening anytime soon. At least not until I get a really stable income. =)

        And yes, I wanted a personal domain for my blog. For good reasons though. My plan had always been an online portfolio for me and my friends, a website where clients can look at our works. And blogging is one form of portfolio — of the written kind. =)

  12. 32 GraceGreyz August 28, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    Yes I do monitor my followers. I try to visit them everyday, though I only got a few since I just starts blogging again a month ago. I also monitor comments. I don’t mind lurkers, at least someone views the blog dba? I appreciate even the smallest efforts.

    • 33 Chachic August 29, 2010 at 2:00 am

      Hey GraceGreyz, thanks for joining Filipino Friday! I don’t think your blog is listed though, would it be okay if you sent your blog details to the email in the sidebar? So I could put up a post about your blog.

      Wow, you visit all of your followers? I only do that when I participate in memes and things like that. Otherwise, I’ll probably only visit when they mention that they also reviewed a book that I just read.

  13. 34 aloi August 29, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    (late again!) i monitor it more out of curiousity. there was a time that i wanted more followers but i don’t like to stress about it. takes a load off pressure, after all blogging is supposed to be fun!

    i do admire those who are able to keep people engaged and have a growing following!

    • 35 Chachic August 30, 2010 at 4:19 pm

      Yeah, you lose the fun out of blogging when you start stressing about things so it’s always good to take a step back and remember that you’re blogging because you enjoy it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers


