Filipino Friday 9

Hello everyone, it’s Friday yet again. I hope all of you had a good week. Several of you have confirmed that you’ll make it to the first ever Filipino Book Bloggers meet up on the last Saturday of the month – September 25, 3pm, Starbucks on the sixth floor of Shangrila Mall. 🙂 I look forward to seeing those who’ll be able to go. Feel free to bring your bookish friends even if they don’t have a blog.

For this week’s Filipino Friday topic, Honey mentioned that she attended the Future of the Book conference and that she realized that local publishers don’t really know that Filipino readers are out and about. You can see her reflections about the conferece here. Anyway, here’s what Honey wanted to discuss for this week: What would you, as a reader and a book blogger, want local/Filipino publishers to know?

29 Responses to “Filipino Friday 9”


  1. 1 Jason September 17, 2010 at 11:34 am

    That’s actually very odd. What would make local publishers think that Filipino readers aren’t “out and about”. We have a big market for romance books and humor books. Sure, they’re not flying off the shelves, but we have so much supply in the Philippines because it’s published in the Philippines.

    That said, I do know of books that have been reprinted numerous times. It’s just not the sort of books we read. Haha.

    As for what I would want the local/Filipino publishers to know: We exist. And we are willing to read Pinoy books written by Pinoys so long as they are of good quality: content-wise and manufacturing-wise.

  2. 2 Chachic September 17, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    I was actually quite surprised when Honey told me that local publishers aren’t aware of social networking sites for book lovers like Goodreads and Shelfari. Both groups have very active Filipino members. I wonder if they know about Filipino book bloggers? It’s such a simple thing to do a Google search using the following words: Filipino, Philippines, reader, book blogger, etc. I’m sure at least one site will turn up.

    The main thing that I want local publishers to know is the same as Jason’s: that they’re made aware that we’re here and we want to read Filipino books (especially the ones that fall under our niche genres – in my case, fantasy and YA).

  3. 3 imaaronvincent September 17, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Hello. Interesting topic.

    Truth be told, I haven’t read a single locally published book since my so-called “bibliophile life” started. I don’t have any idea either what books are out there aside from Candy Gourlay’s Tall Story, Tall Story and er.. Tall Story which if not for Tina and Chachic’s excellent review of that book, I wouldn’t have any idea that such book exist. How nationalistic of me. Feel free to shot me.

    Therefore, I think I am in no position to give any commentary on the current status of local publishing or books. Allow me to say what I look for in a book instead. I go by the reading philosophy of reading for fun. I don’t seek for those life-changing lessons, pretentiousness yadda, yadda. I’m sure that I am not alone in this. Seeing the trend of the recently published books, majority of the readers these days seek for books that will give them a fun reading experience rather than a moral lesson they could apply to their lives. There is a bigger market for non-condescending books, I believe (or I’m just in the wrong crowd?).

    If I will read a locally published book, I want it to be because I got interested and I desired to read it and not because I think it is a call of duty.

  4. 4 fantaghiro23 September 17, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    I’d say the independent publishers and the book distributors leverage the social networking sites more to reach readers. But the big publishers, not so much. So I guess that’s why a lot of the big publishers aren’t really that aware of the readers that frequent the various book-related social networking sites.

    Now, as for the readers of Filipino romances, humor, and horror books, yes, there are a lot. Unfortunately, sometimes there’s that elitism when one thinks of the term “reader.” Which is really the subject for an entire different post. Though I think I did mention it somewhat here.

    Aside from knowing that we are here and where we can be found, I’d like publishers to know how to use us, of sorts, to promote good Filipino books. Like how other publishers, mostly foreign, send books to bloggers for review. Or maybe organize events with bloggers or book clubs to promote a book. There are so many possibilities, and I think if they look around, they’ll find the readers/bloggers who can fit their book and market.

    • 5 Chachic September 20, 2010 at 11:37 am

      Honey, I agree with you. I think it’s a good idea if local publishers can set up a system similar to what US publishers do with bloggers over there. They send review copies before the books come out to generate more publicity and it really works.

      • 6 Tina September 21, 2010 at 5:41 pm

        I think Summit Media does that, but it’s not really an advance copy. I received a copy of Table for Two by Marla Miniano with a press release attached a few weeks after it was released. I think it may be because their marketing person (I can’t remember her position, sorry) is also a blogger, so she knows about it. 🙂

  5. 7 Tarie September 18, 2010 at 2:44 am

    Honey, I agree with everything you said. Today, I will be giving a talk to the authors and illustrators of Adarna House on how to work with bloggers to promote their work as well as reading and children’s books in general.

  6. 10 Mel u September 18, 2010 at 9:20 am

    I have posted in the last year on six Filipino books-including two books about WWII in Manila by people who lived through it that should be in the canon of WWII books but sadly the only readers they will find are those in the National book store-I sent copies of my post to the publisher and got response saying thanks and that was all. It is funny one of the books I posted on Barefoot in the Fire-A Manila WWII childhood-was required reading in a class at the Univ of the Philippines and as I have the only post on the book (at that time) I got a really lot of hits on it-I got inquires from people outside the USA asking how to buy these books etc-

  7. 11 Jason September 19, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    … I have an idea.

    Why don’t we, as Filipino Book Bloggers, post about (at least) one Filipino-written book per month. Let’s see what happens. =)

    • 12 Mel u September 20, 2010 at 10:27 am

      Jason-that is a great idea-if we do not want to personally post on one book a month we could just divide up the months and then when some body posts a review we could mention in on our own blog or in a tweet-

      • 13 Chachic September 20, 2010 at 11:39 am

        I agree with Mel. We can promote a fellow Filipino book blogger’s post about a book by a Filipino author because I’m not sure if we can all commit to reading at least one book per month.

      • 14 Jason September 21, 2010 at 10:03 am

        and I just realized that there really aren’t that many books written by Filipinos, so we might end up talking about the same books in the end. haha.

        so yeah, we could just mention (or post about) a colleague’s review/blog post of a filipino-written book. =)

    • 15 Tina September 21, 2010 at 5:44 pm

      This is a very good idea. 🙂 It reminds me of one of my challenges this year: http://www.komikasi.com/project2010/ 🙂

    • 16 imaaronvincent September 21, 2010 at 6:17 pm

      A book a month. I can do that. I believe I can. Maybe we can do a newsletter post here that summarizes all of the members reviews for that month. Just like what Chachic and her gang are doing in YA, Y Not blog.

      • 17 Chachic September 22, 2010 at 10:48 am

        Aaron, we don’t actually post a summary of reviews in YA, Y Not. It’s supposedly a newsletter where we write about YA books that fall under a certain theme. So far, the books that I reviewed there are books that I haven’t reviewed in my blog. 🙂

      • 18 fantaghiro23 September 22, 2010 at 7:31 pm

        We could do something like the Spotlight Series. They set aside a week to feature a publisher and post a link to all of the blogs that have reviewed books from that publisher. Not that we have to feature a specific publisher–just Filipino works in general.

  8. 19 Mel u September 21, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Here is a link to the six Filipino works I have posted on in the last year-I agree per blogger a month is too much to do but one a year is reasonable and maybe two

    http://rereadinglives.blogspot.com/search/label/Philippines

  9. 20 Tarie September 21, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    For the years 2008-2009, more than 131 Filipino children’s and YA books were published. This year around 55 are expected to be released. So . . . YAY, ME! I got loads to review. I probably won’t even get to review all of them.

  10. 25 artseblis September 21, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    re blogging about Filipino books – Great idea, Jason! that could be one of the FBB’s major goals.

  11. 26 Mel u September 22, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Yes there are lots of books we can review-for example Soledad’s Sister by Jose Dalisay got good reviews in new papers here in the Philippines but I do not recall any book blogs posts-Arlene Choi’s The Last Time I Saw Mother-which I read in preblog days-is a very good book-even though she now lives in Australia-there are severa; very good YA books about WWII in Manila worthy of international interest-We have to review the books honestly and not with the simple idea of promotion in mind

    • 27 fantaghiro23 September 22, 2010 at 7:29 pm

      Agreed, Mel. I think it’d be good for us to promote our own literature, too. After all, we’re Filipino, we’re readers, and we’re bloggers. Also, I think the publishers and authors need help to promote our literature.


  1. 1 Filipino Friday 10 « Filipino Book Bloggers Trackback on September 24, 2010 at 11:09 am
  2. 2 First Ever FBB Meet Up « Chachic's Book Nook Trackback on September 27, 2010 at 8:36 am

Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 262 other followers


