Filipino Friday 10

Hi guys! Just a reminder that the first ever meet up is tomorrow and the details are: September 25, 3pm, Starbucks on the sixth floor of Shangrila Mall. To those who won’t be able to make it, we hope to see you in a future get together. I will be there on time tomorrow (and with a camera so we’ll have proof of the meet up). See you!

For this Filipino Friday, I thought we could discuss something in relation to last week’s post. It seems like a lot of us don’t get to read books by Filipino authors that often and I want to remedy that situation. So here’s my question – what is a book by a Filipino that you highly recommend? It can be from any genre because the bloggers in this group read all sorts of books but personally, I will be on the look out for YA or fantasy recommendations. Fire away!

17 Responses to “Filipino Friday 10”


  1. 1 Tina September 24, 2010 at 11:17 am

    Happy Friday! 🙂

    Tall Story by Candy Gourlay (a given :D)

    The Last Time I Saw Mother by Arlene Chai
    Eating Fire and Drinking Water by Arlene Chai
    – read these two back in college and loved them. I still love them until now. 🙂

    Catch a Falling Star by Cristina Pantoja-Hidalgo

    Since I love chick lit, here are the other local chick lit that I enjoyed:
    My Imaginary Ex by Mina Esguerra
    Fairy Tale Fail by Mina Esguerra
    Table for Two by Marla Miniano
    Amazing Grace by Tara FT Sering

    🙂

  2. 2 Maan September 24, 2010 at 11:33 am

    F.H. Batacan’s “Smaller & Smaller Circles” is a must-have! I, too, am guilty of not reading a lot of Phil. lit., but this novel that won the 1999 Palanca Award for Best Novel in English is something that proves to me that Filipino writers can make it. It’s a suspense/crime/detective novel that’s gripping and exciting, and you’d feel the affinity because of the Pinoy cultural flavor that nicely adds that cultural perspective despite the plot’s tone of a CSI-ish investigation. Intrigued? Here’s my book review of it last summer:

    http://tabbedbooks.wordpress.com/2010/05/24/smaller-and-smaller-circles-by-f-h-batacan/

  3. 3 maidenveil September 24, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Zsa Zsa Zaturna! Does this count? 😀 Seriously, I love this one. But if I would recommend one it would be F. Batacan’s Smaller and Smaller Circle. It’s a psy-thriller with a CSI-feel. 🙂

    Sorry I can’t make it tomorrow. I have some write-ups to finish. O_O I’ll look forward to the pictures and for a next time! 🙂

    • 4 Tina September 24, 2010 at 12:53 pm

      Oh I love Smaller and Smaller Circles, too. 🙂 We read it in class back in college and I was so annoyed that I got spoiled when the group assigned with that book was reported about the book up to the ending. But I still liked it nonetheless. 🙂

  4. 5 narj September 24, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Barriotic Punk by Mes De Guzman
    Mondomanila by Norman Wilwayco
    Wasted by Gerry Alanguilan*

    *-graphic novel

  5. 7 Mel u September 24, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Living With The Enemy: A Diary of the Japanese Occupation by Pacita Pestano-Jacinto

    Barefoot in the Fire-A Manila WWII Childhood-by Barbara Gamboa Lewis

    The Last Time I Saw Mother by Arlene Choi

  6. 8 Funandfearless September 24, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Bamboo in the Wind – Azucena Grajo Uranza
    Dekada ’70 – Lualhati Bautista

    They’re both about Martial Law. And I’ve read them because we have to write a literary criticism using Marxism. ^_^ Yeah, I think I remember right.

  7. 10 Chachic September 24, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    I think the only Filipino book I read this year was Tall Story although I second the Zsa Zsa Zaturna recommendation.

  8. 11 Bryan September 24, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    First, a couple of comics! TRESE! Awesome take on Philippine mythology as set in modern times. Crime/noir/horror ftw. The author also writes some short stories related to the main series at http://diabolical13.blogspot.com/ (I especially was spooked – which means “loved” – “The Choir” and “The Usual Spot”)

    Gerry Alanguilan’s “Elmer” is great too! The basic premise is “what if chickens became sentient?” and gets really really good.

    I just finished re-reading Nick Joaquin’s “Candido’s Apocalypse,” and it’s as excellent as I remember it! I like his other works too, I remember reading May Day Eve for Lit class in freshman year.

    Another one is F. Sionil Jose’s novels – I read “Mass,” one of the books in his Rosales Saga (ah, the wonders of Wiki).

  9. 12 Maan September 24, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Oh, I almost forgot about my friend’s books!

    If it’s about life, check out “Lost and Found and other essays” by Rica Bolipata-Santos. Her first book is “Love, Desire, Children, Etc.”

    Here’s my review:

    http://tabbedbooks.wordpress.com/2010/08/12/lost-and-found-and-other-essays-by-rica-bolipata-santos/

  10. 13 Rise September 24, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    America Is in the Heart by Carlos Bulosan
    A Season of Grace by N.V.M. Gonzalez
    The Woman Who Had Two Navels by Nick Joaquín
    You Lovely People by Bienvenido Santos
    Ilustrado by Miguel Syjuco

  11. 14 fantaghiro23 September 24, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    My vote’s in for Trese, too! All 3 volumes.:)
    And add me in for Smaller and Smaller Circles. Liked that book. We even included it in our high school book list.
    Para Kay B by Ricky Lee. Because it’s the only written in Filipino book that I completed and actually enjoyed. Reviewed it here: http://fantaghiro23.blogspot.com/2009/04/para-kay-b-by-ricky-lee.html

  12. 15 Jason September 25, 2010 at 10:13 am

    I’m definitely recommending “Waking the Dead” by Yvette Tan. It’s a well-written book, and it has nice twists on the common aswang genre.

  13. 16 Jinky September 26, 2010 at 8:50 am

    I’ve only read Ilustrado so far.

    Thanks for the list everyone! I’ll have to see which of these are in my library …my main source for books at the moment.


  1. 1 First Ever FBB Meet Up « Chachic's Book Nook Trackback on September 27, 2010 at 8:37 am

Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers


