Filipino Friday 12

Hello fellow Filipino book bloggers! How are you all doing? I hope you all had a great week. This week’s Filipino Friday topic is something that I thought of right after I hit post in last week’s topic. I’m curious – what are some of your comfort reads? With the number of books that we read, I want to know what are your favorites and what books stand out for you. It would be great if you could provide links to reviews because that may convince fellow bloggers to read the books that you mention. 🙂 Fire away!

25 Responses to “Filipino Friday 12”


  1. 1 isaw08 October 8, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Comfort book? Seriously, the Bible 🙂

  2. 2 Jason October 8, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I always reread any HP books whenever I want a pick-me-up. 🙂

    • 3 Chachic October 8, 2010 at 1:08 pm

      I think I need to buy a new set of HP books because mine is dilapidated already. 😛

      • 4 Jason October 11, 2010 at 11:21 pm

        a new set of HP books is one of my must-buys. i’m planning on getting the hard-bound ones. but i might just end up buying 1-6. since my Book 7 is still in good shape. [no one borrowed Book 7 from me. haha]

  3. 5 imaaronvincent October 8, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist – David Levithan & Rachel Cohn
    It’s a fun feel good book despite its tremendous amount of profanities.
    Flipped – Wendelin Van Draanen
    Few pages in and I’m already beaming from ear to ear.
    Fablehaven – Brandon Mull
    It made me feel like a 12 year old kid all over again. It gives you that feeling you get after visiting a theme park. I’ve read this book almost a dozen times already and I never get tired of it.
    Paper Towns – John Green
    It’s the laugh-out-really-loud-you’re-waking-your-whole-neighborhood book. But this isn’t exactly a feel good book because it will also make you cry a bit and it touches a very thoughtful topic. Nonetheless, the perfect and painfully beautiful ending will leave you hopeful. For me, it’s the best John Green book and that’s like saying it’s the best of the bests.(My review here.) *shameless self-promotion*

    Basically, my comfort reads are anything fun and quirky

    • 6 Chachic October 8, 2010 at 1:36 pm

      I really enjoyed reading Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist! Fablehaven and Paper Towns are in my wishlist.

      • 7 imaaronvincent October 8, 2010 at 3:27 pm

        Get Fablehaven already!!!! It’s easily available everywhere and it only cost 200 bucks!! Paper Towns is hard to find, probably you can just order that from BD? The right reason for you to test their service, right? Or if you want, I can lend you my copy. I badly need some space away from it. I am reading at least one chapter of it e-v-e-r-y-d-a-y! We have this kind of obsessive relationship already and it’s not healthy anymore.

      • 8 Chachic October 8, 2010 at 6:04 pm

        That’s why I haven’t gotten Fablehaven yet, it’s readily available. 🙂 I’ll grab it when I’ve trimmed down my TBR. Same goes for Paper Towns, which I’ve seen around in Fully Booked.

    • 9 Tina October 8, 2010 at 3:52 pm

      Flipped! ❤

      Paper Towns is available in Fully Booked now. I just reserved my copy yesterday and I'm picking it up later. 🙂

  4. 10 Chachic October 8, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    I have a long list of favorites, which can be found here.

    But a lot of those are newly discovered favorites so they haven’t had the chance to become comfort reads (meaning I haven’t reread them yet). The ones that I’ve reread several times whenever I wanted to be comforted are:

    The Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner
    Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith
    The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley
    Beauty by Robin McKinley
    The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale
    Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
    I Do by Elizabeth Chandler

  5. 13 Paolo Chikiamco October 8, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    If by comfort reads, you mean the books where I can just turn my brain off and enjoy the ride (not to say that they aren’t mentally stimulating), then – since I don’t have time to re-read anymore – all of my answers will be from series (since it’s really only in a series where I already know the tone of a book before I pick it up):

    * The Dresden Files books by Jim Butcher
    * Scott Pilgrim series by Bryan Lee O’malley
    * Great Teacher Onizuka by Tohru Fujisawa
    * The Vorkosigan series by Lois McMaster Bujold
    * The Gentleman Bastards series by Scott Lynch (only two books so far – think of it as the Renaissance version of the TV show “Leverage” – but with higher stakes, and dark magic.)

    In the more distant past, The Tiger and Del series (Jennifer Roberson) and anything by David Eddings (almost all his books follow the same formula). For the future, I have high hopes for Scott Westerfield’s Leviathan series.

    There you have it, not necessarily my favorite books but definitely what I’d classify as comfort reads.

    • 14 Chachic October 8, 2010 at 6:15 pm

      Hey, that’s a perfect definition of comfort reads – you can turn off your brain when you read them.

      Great Teacher Onizuka is an anime series, right? I didn’t know there’s a book about it. Oooh the Vorkosigan series! I’ve only read the first two about Miles but I have the rest of the books, I just don’t know when I’ll read them. I read the first Gentleman Bastards book because I like thieves in books but I found it too dark.

      Have you read The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss? Based on the titles that you named here, I think you’ll like it.

  6. 15 Tina October 8, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    * Dreaming of Black and White and Dreaming in Technicolor by Laura Jensen Walker (my favorite chick lit books)
    * Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen
    * Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
    * Belong to Me by Marisa delos Santos
    * The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
    * A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

    Most of my comfort reads are fluffy reads, which is why even if I’m reading more YA and fantasy lately, I still love chick lit (and its other sub-genre). 😀

    • 16 Chachic October 10, 2010 at 9:34 am

      I should try those Laura Jensen Walker books because I’m always on the lookout for some good chick lit.

      • 17 Tina October 12, 2010 at 12:28 am

        I’m not sure if they’re readily available here, but I can lend you my copies when you have the time. I got the first book at OMF Lit in Boni (near your office, I think?) and the other one was ordered from Amazon. But they are available in Kindle anyway, so you can get it from there when you get your Kindle. 🙂

  7. 18 maidenveil October 9, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    I read Harry Potter is on top of my comfort reads. 🙂

  8. 19 narj October 10, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Hello friends! So sorry for being late (it’s already Sunday and I miss this group) but I like to share my current lineup of Comfort Books.

    FLOWERS FOR ALGERNON by Daniel Keyes
    UH OH and ALL I REALLY NEED TO KNOW I LEARNED IN KINDERGARTEN by Robert Fulghum
    THE GRAVEYARD BOOK and AMERICAN GODS by Neil Gaiman
    THE POWER AND THE GLORY by Graham Greene
    BARRIOTIC PUNK by Mes De Guzman
    PUGAD BABOY #4 and #5 by Pol Medina

  9. 20 Ace October 11, 2010 at 1:18 am

    -The Ask and The Answer by Patrick Ness
    -I am The Messenger by Markus Zusak
    -Harry Potter 3 and 4 by JK Rowling
    -The 13th Hour by Richard Doetsch
    -A kiss in Time by Alex Flinn

    I don’t know, but I find comfort reading a war and mystery/thriller novel. It is because my fantasy of
    retaliation is there…

  10. 21 ArtSeblis October 11, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Nothing beats Labyrinth the movie fan fiction for comfort reading for me. I saw the movie again two years ago and out of idle curiosity I searched online for references. I realized that a cult of fan girls devote much time and energy writing and reading alternative endings and imagined sequels. Something about that movie starring David Bowie and Jennifer Connelly that’s so fascinating. Anyway,fanfiction.net is now my rich source of comfort reads. And my list of favorites is here: http://www.fanfiction.net/~artseblis.

  11. 22 yodz October 13, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Paulo Coelho books are definitely my comfort books – lots of insights and wonderful stories – very simple but full of wisdom.

  12. 23 artseblis October 15, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    My comfort books: rather obscure books for some reason:

    Harm’s Way by Colin Greenland http://www.shelfari.com/books/3147692/Harms-Way

    Atlan Saga beginning with The Serpent by Jane Gaskell http://www.shelfari.com/books/6512607/The-Serpent

    The Secret Country Trilogy by Pamela Dean http://www.shelfari.com/books/241566/The-Secret-Country

    The Tredana Trilogy by Joyce Ballou Gregorian http://www.shelfari.com/books/1504380/The-Broken-Citadel

    But my all time favorite comfort reads are Labyrinth Fanfiction – http://www.fanfiction.net/~artseblis.

  13. 25 Rise October 20, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Any short book (less than 150 pages) is a comfort read for me. Because with short books, the end is always in sight. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 264 other followers


