Filipino Friday 13

Hey fellow Filipino book bloggers! I hope you all had a great week. I previously mentioned that it would be good if we could have another meet up before the year is out. How does November 13 or November 20 sound? Please let me know which date is better for all of you. As soon as we have a date and time finalized, we can let Fully Booked know so they can reserve the Forum function area in their Fort branch.

For this week’s Filipino Friday, I thought we could all answer some questions from the Reading Habits meme:

1. Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
2. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
3. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?
4. Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?

If you want to answer the whole meme and do a separate post about it in your blog, feel free to do so and just leave a link of the post in the comments.

Happy Friday and I hope you all get a lot of reading done this weekend. 🙂

ROUNDUP of reviews of books by Filipino authors:
The Polysyllabic Spree reviews The Kobayashi Maru of Love by Carjoe Javier
Taking a Break reviews The Kobayashi Maru of Love by Carjoe Javier
Into the Wardrobe reviews Kataastaasan by Hannah Buena and Paolo Chikiamco
Coffeespoons reviews The Kobayashi Maru of Love by Carjoe Javier

26 Responses to “Filipino Friday 13”


  1. 1 greyz October 15, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    There are certain books that I mark to remember passages or quotes. Before I use to fold a small portion of the book or dog-ears but it doesn’t look pretty after. After years of reading, I finally realize to take care of my books. Third question depends on the book. There are some books that I don’t usually finish especially if it gets lame, but most of the time I finish a book. I also don’t abandon a series regardless of how the story goes. I am a busy reader, I tend to read 2-3 books at a time. 1 printed, 2 ebooks or a combination. Depends on the mood. I am not satisfied reading a single book in a week. Parang kulang eh! 🙂

  2. 2 Maan October 15, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    I just took a shot of my tabbed books, the inspiration of my book blog’s name 🙂

    http://tabbedbooks.wordpress.com/2010/10/07/some-tabbed-books/

    I’ll try to make it to the next meet up! 🙂 Happy weekend!

  3. 3 Funandfearless October 15, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Hello, Chachic! These are really interesting questions! ^_^

    1. Writing on my books used to scare me. But as I read more and more, I realized that there will always be things in the book that need the help of my highlighter to remind me – vocabulary, beautifully structured sentences and equally beautiful script. I started writing the definition of words at first and then I wrote my own reactions as soon as I got comfortable.

    2. Bookmarks. With beautiful tassels. But when I lost three or four bookmarks consecutively, I just slipped in a piece of paper. Thank goodness for my sister and I now have a magnetic bookmark. ^_^

    3. It depends on the book actually, and on my mood, too. If the story’s too good that I can’t just let myself be left hanging in the middle of a descriptive paragraph, I just make sure that I have set my alarm clock for tomorrow’s work.

    4. As a self-proclaimed multitasker, I believe it’s best to accomplish more than two tasks at the same time. You know, that’s my idea of productivity. But that’s for most cases. When it comes to books, I can only manage one title. ^_^

    Meet up? I’m on!

  4. 5 Jason October 15, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    I’m game with either date, so long as they get finalized before November begins. So I can block them on my planner. =)

    as for answers;

    1. Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
    – I tried that once. The idea doesn’t horrify me, but I tend to forget midway that I’m marking. I have a tendency to get lost in what I’m reading.

    2. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
    – Definitely bookmark. I’m not OC when it comes to creases, but I would never intentionally harm a book.

    3. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?
    – I prefer finishing a chapter, but I can stop anywhere.

    4. Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?
    – I only read more than one book at a time if it’s for school/work; or if one of the books I’m reading is really, really boring.

    • 6 Funandfearless October 15, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      Being OC about spine creases reminds me of my bestfriend’s book. Oh I still feel bad about it. Anyway, which stuff in the book do you mark? ^_^

      • 7 Jason October 16, 2010 at 11:22 pm

        the only time I tried to mark a book, I started marking dialogue that I really liked. I think I got to three marks before I forgot to continue doing it. Haha. 🙂

        what happened to your bestfriend’s book, if you don’t mind me asking? 🙂

  5. 8 Mika October 15, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    1. Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

    I will only write on a book if it’s a textbook. Highlight to death kung highlights when it comes to reviewing and such, but for all other books… no. Sacrilege!

    2. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?

    With a bookmark or anything that can double a bookmark. Someone told me about the horrors of dog-ears, which I used to do when I was younger, and I’m so against anything that will abuse a book’s spine.

    (Can you tell I’m being a freak already?)

    3. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?

    Stop anywhere. Can’t fight the sleep.

    4. Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?

    If it’s reading for leisure, I have to read it a book at a time to fully savor it. Work requires me to read a lot of stuff already, so I can’t afford to read multiple non-work stuff.

  6. 10 artseblis October 15, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    Hmmn, maybe I’d better try not to reveal how I love my books to death. But I love them one at a time.

    I vote Nov 13. Flips Flipping Pages has a book discussion on the 20th.

  7. 13 blooey October 15, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    I prefer the 13th too, because of the FFP book discussion.

    Answered the Reading Habits meme in tonight’s post:
    http://sumthinblue.com/filipino-friday-reading-habits/

  8. 15 Istin October 15, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Nov 13 and 20 are both school days but I’d still try to attend! Can’t wait to meet you guys 🙂

    Meme post:
    http://istinnn.blogspot.com/2010/10/filipino-friday-13.html

  9. 16 Jinky October 16, 2010 at 12:26 am

    Have a great time at the meet-up!

    1. I mostly read library books so I don’t dare mark them! I’ll mark my scriptures neatly though.

    2. I conveniently use the stock card that the library stamps when the books are due as book marks. Love it cuz for some reason I loose the traditional book markers!

    3. I have to stop anywhere because I have 3 little kids and they come first. =]

    4. I like to stick to one book at a time but will occasionally start up another to see which I’d get through quicker.

  10. 17 Chachic October 17, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Sorry I’m late with my answers! I know I already posted the link to my answers to the meme but I tweaked it a bit so here goes:

    1. Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
    Marking books, the horror! Even while I was in school, I never liked marking books. My classmates would always highlight their school books and write notes in the margins but I never did that. The only thing I write in books is my name. And a couple of years back, I started writing the date when I bought the book just to give me an idea of when I first discovered it.

    2. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
    Like I said earlier, I don’t like marking books so I also don’t dog-ear or lay the book flat. I’m very careful when handling books and that’s why I’m picky when it comes to lending my books. I use bookmarks when I need to keep my place in a book. I have a couple of bookmarks lying around in my bedside table because people give me those as gifts. Sometimes when I don’t have a bookmark within reach, I use receipts because those are made out of thin paper and they won’t damage the book when you use them.

    3. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?
    Okay, my answer here actually has changed. I used to always stop at the end of the chapter but now I don’t mind anymore where I stop because I read everywhere – the train, while waiting in line for the ATM or a cab – so I can’t always pick where I stop reading.

    4. Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?
    I try to read a book one a time to avoid confusion but I can read more than one if I have to. Like if I forget a book at home or in the office and I have another one on hand, I’m okay with starting that other book.

  11. 18 maidenveil October 17, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    1. Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
    – I mark the books with post-its or those little sticker markers. But pen marks? A major no! 🙂

    2. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
    Bookmarks!

    3. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?
    End-of-chapter person. So I won’t get lost when I return to the book. 🙂

    4. Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?
    One book at a time! 🙂 I easily mixed up things. LOL.

  12. 19 fantaghiro23 October 17, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Hi, Chachic! As usual, I’m answering this a bit late.

    1. I have no problem writing in books. I don’t think writing on them means you don’t love them.
    2. I use bookmarks, which are usually any piece of card paper I can find. I know I have lots of bookmarks, but I keep losing them, so I just use anything I can find.
    3. I stop anywhere, if I really want to.
    4. I used to read just one book at a time, but in the past few years, I’ve started a few and left them in the middle to finish another. Not sure if it makes me polybookist.

    Regarding the meet-up, November 13 sounds good.:)

  13. 20 Tina October 17, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    I’m late, too. 😛

    1. Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
    – I think everyone will hate me for this…but I dog-ear every now and then. I’m too lazy to get a notebook to take note of the quotes, plus I don’t always have a post-it to mark the pages…so I dog-ear. ^^ I’m sorry, please don’t get mad at me! I only dog-ear my books, though. If someone else owns it, I don’t.

    2. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
    – Bookmarks for marking my place, dog-ears for remembering the page with a quote I liked.

    3. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?
    – I try to get to the end of the chapter before I fall asleep, but sometimes I fall asleep in the middle of it. The problem with reading up to the end of the chapter is sometimes I start reading the next chapter and the next and the next…this is why my blog is named One More Page. 😛

    4. Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?
    – I usually read 2 books, but mostly concentrate on one. The other is really just so I won’t get sick of the other one easily.

    On meet-up: I am not sure if I can make it on either dates because November is NaNoWriMo month, and all weekends of November are booked for that. I will try to catch up, though. 🙂

  14. 21 Aldrin October 17, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    Hi, Chachic! Finally answering a Filipino Friday prompt after the longest time.

    1. Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
    – I only mark books when they’re textbooks. :p Making marks or writing on books is not exactly what I’d call horrifying; I just like my books clean inside and out. But I say a big NO to spine-creasing. I’ll go postal on anyone who dare put creases on my books’ spines. Haha, kidding. No, seriously.

    2. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?
    – Until recently I would just commit to memory the last page I read in a book, but now I use an iPhone app that serves as a book log of sorts, which I wrote about here.

    3. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of a chapter, or can you stop anywhere?
    – I take a break from reading a book either at the end of a chapter or at a section break so that the train of thought or narrative thread on hand doesn’t get prematurely disrupted.

    4. Are you the type of person that reads one book at a time, or can you read more than one?
    – At any given time, there are at least three books in my currently-reading list. Case in point: right now, mere hours after finishing Ben Mezrich’s The Accidental Billionaires, I’m reading Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom, Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin, and Howard Jacobson’s The Finkler Question.

    For the meet-up date: I’d rather the meet-up be on the 20th, but I might be able to adjust my schedule to make way for it on the 13th.

  15. 22 Mel u October 18, 2010 at 10:54 am

    I feel free to mark up paperbacks and I mark where I am by folding down the pages-

    I in fact do not like to stop reading at chapter breaks-I do prefer to stop reading on a left page rather than a right-no reason in logic for this just an old habit-

    I always read more than one book at a time-some times as many as ten but always at least three-sometimes if I really get into a book I stick with it until completed-


  1. 1 First Filipino Friday Post | Dark Chest of Wonders Trackback on October 15, 2010 at 7:06 pm
  2. 2 Book Blogging Thus Far | Dark Chest of Wonders Trackback on October 16, 2010 at 5:14 pm
  3. 3 Filipino Friday 14 « Filipino Book Bloggers Trackback on October 22, 2010 at 8:08 am

Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 264 other followers


