Filipino Friday 15

Hi everyone, this Friday marks the start of another long weekend. Several people are probably planning to go to out-of-town and I hope you all enjoy your time off from work. This week, I put up a post about the November 13 meet up. Basically, I need to know if you guys will still be willing to meet in Fully Booked Fort 5pm onwards because the function area is already booked from 2pm to 5pm. Or if you’d rather meet earlier, please suggest a place that you think is convenient. Paolo is also asking if anyone wants to do a book swap during the meet up. Just head on over to the original post and reply there.

Since Halloween/All Soul’s Day is coming up, I thought we could discuss favorite horror books for today’s Filipino Friday. What are your favorite horror books or ghost stories?

ROUNDUP of reviews of books by Filipino authors:
ArtSeblis reviews Backpack by Robert Alejandro

*Please let me know if I missed any reviews so I can update the post with links.

6 Responses to “Filipino Friday 15”


  1. 1 Jason October 29, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Christopher Golden is my go-to horror author. So any book by him, I’m good to go. šŸ™‚

    As for horror stories, I love the ones that people experience and pass along to friends. Hence my other blog, filipinoscares.tumblr.com šŸ™‚

  2. 2 Tina October 29, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    I don’t think I have any. I’m not a fan of horror, so anything scary isn’t really my cup of tea. I remember reading Adam by Ted Dekker one time and while it’s not really a horror book, it made me jump when I heard the phone ring while I was reading it. I’m a big chicken. ^^

    • 3 Chachic November 2, 2010 at 10:00 am

      Tina, I’m like you! I’m not a big fan of horror in any form (movie or book) and I don’t think I’ve ever read a horror book. I try to stay away from horror movies as much as I can. I just thought I’d throw this question out there in celebration of Halloween.

  3. 4 Jinky October 29, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    I’m a big chicken too, Tina. Horror is not my thing so sorry I’m no help here.

    Everyone enjoy your holiday weekend. =]

  4. 6 jzhunagev October 30, 2010 at 10:04 am

    Hi Chachic!

    I’m in the nascent stage of my horror exploring, but I would have to say that Stephen King’s “Night Shift” his first collection of stories gave me my first chills. “Tragic Theater” by G.M. Cornel is an overall good Filipino book along with the “Trese” graphic novel series by Budjette Tan & Kajo Baldisimo.

    I’m currently reading “The Exorcist” by William Peter Blatty and I’m loving it so far, along with the nightmares…

    Dark nights and creepy wonders! ;D


Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 261 other followers


