Filipino Friday 16

Since the second meet up is about a week away, we really need to finalize the details. In this post, Libreira won by one vote. So there you have it, folks – the second Filipino Book Bloggers Meet Up will be on November 13, 2pm, Libreira bookstore in Cubao X. Blooey, is it okay if you talk to the owners of Libreira so we can have the place reserved? 🙂 I don’t have their contact details. If you’re planning to go, please leave a comment just so we have a general idea of how many will attend.

For this week’s Filipino Friday topic, I thought we could talk about blogging highlights. We haven’t talked about anything blogging-related for a while so I thought we could discuss some of the highlights of your blogging experience. What are some of those highlights for you? I’m talking about those blogging experiences that made you jump up and down with excitement, like when a favorite author (or a favorite blogger) left a comment in one of your posts or when you received your first blog award. It’ll be interesting to see what aspects of blogging makes each of you happy. 🙂

Happy Friday and enjoy the weekend!

ROUNDUP of reviews of books by Filipino authors:
Chachic’s Book Nook reviews My Imaginary Ex by Mina V. Esguerra
Taking a Break reviews Takod by David Hontiveros
Taking a Break reviews Trese, Mass Murders Written by Budjette Tan, Art by Kajo Baldisimo
Taking a Break reviews Trese, Unreported Murders Written by Budjette Tan, Art by Kajo Baldisimo
Chachic’s Book Nook reviews Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra
One More Page reviews Flight to the Stars (and other stories) by Samantha Mae Coyiuto
Taking a Break reviews Trese, Murder on Balete Drive Written by Budjette Tan, Art by Kajo Baldisimo
Taking a Break reviews Tales of Enchantment and Fantasy edited by Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo

*Please let me know if I missed any reviews so I can update the post with links.

18 Responses to “Filipino Friday 16”


  1. 1 Paolo Chikiamco November 5, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    Aw, I think that means we won’t be able to join you, but have fun 🙂

    As for blogging experiences, there have been a few: hitting almost 2,500 views in a day for a post that was picked up by deviantart’s twitter account, having a review mentioned by Nick Mamatas at the Haikasoru website, anytime I get a shoutout from someone who has just discovered Rocket Kapre–all good things.

  2. 2 Tina November 5, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    I will try to follow you guys on the 13th, but not promising anything. 🙂 My writers need care in the middle of November, so I must do my responsibilities. Hehe.

    Okay, blogging highlights. Hm. An author comment/email is always fun and exciting. There was this one author who tweeted me and thanked me for the review because her sales went up. I also find it thrilling when other people pick up books because of my review, regardless if they enjoyed it or not. That meant I helped the author sell one more book. 🙂

  3. 3 Jason November 5, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    See you guys on November 13 =)

    As for blogging highlights; I’ve had two authors leave comments on my blog. But I think Taking a Break is too young for it to actually have highlights. =)

    Though, I do love getting new followers on my other blog [http://FilipinoScares.Tumblr.com] That never fails to make me happy. =)

  4. 5 narj November 5, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Making William Gibson notice the cool cover (the Brazilian edition) of his groundbreaking opus–NEUROMANCER in my review and also prompting him to tweeet about it is highly memorable. Exceeding a thousand pageviews a day is something I really couldn’t imagine for my mediocre blog. =)

  5. 6 ArtSeblis November 5, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    See the other bloggers on the 13th then. I’m sorry we can’t all make it.

    Blogging highlights. Let’s see. when Ilona Andrews commented; when we had the FBB meetup. 😛

  6. 9 Chachic November 6, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Really sorry that not all of us could make it. Don’t worry, let’s plan another meet up early next year. 🙂

    As for blogging highlights, it’s always great when an author recognizes a post from my blog. They don’t leave comments but they thank me through Twitter or they RT the link to the post. I also love getting comments from my favorite book bloggers and I’m flattered whenever they mention me on their own blog. Another highlight for me is when I get invited to do guest posts because they’re a lot of fun.

  7. 10 blooey November 6, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Ok will tell Triccie (owner of Libreria). Will post back here when I’m done.

    Blogging highlights — anytime someone is encouraged to pick up a book I reviewed and enjoys it as much as I did

  8. 11 blooey November 6, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    OK with Libreria, I just need a headcount so she can prepare seating… We’re good for 2pm onwards.

    Espresso is P50/cup, refillable.

  9. 13 blooey November 6, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    Ok. I told her 15 actually, to be safe. I can update her closer to the date regarding the attendance.

  10. 15 blooey November 6, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    From the entrance to Cubao X, Libreria is that spot where the pavement curves. The signage isn’t up yet but it’s painted caribbean blue and white, with a glass storefront.

  11. 16 imaaronvincent November 6, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    In my almost two months of book blogging, I already had some “blogging highlights”. Whenever Darren of Bart’s Bookshelf, my book blogger idol, comments on my posts, it never fails to make me happy. Then just this week he featured my review of White Mountains in his blog. It’s part of the challenge he host but for me, it is still a great honor to be chosen from all the bloggers who submitted their review. It gave way for Lenore of Presenting Lenore to discover my blog and left a comment on it. I also love when Steph Su recommended my blog to another blogger(thanks to Chachic for informing me). Also when my review of Tim Bowler’s Frozen Fire was featured on his website.

    I also had my fair share of negative “publicity”. One twitter user called me “sexist” which leads to Ana, one writer of Book Smugglers, to link me on her review of Gentlemen. We(Ana and I) even had an exchange of email message about this. It’s alright, though, for negative feedbacks are inevitable if you voice out your opinion. 🙂

    See you guys on the 13th!

  12. 17 maidenveil November 8, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Count me in on the 13th. 🙂 I can stay for a while. 🙂

    Blogging highlights…ah, when I actually felt that there are people reading my blog. Haha! And when one of my fav authors commented too. I didn’t think it was possible.

    See you on the 13th!

  13. 18 Ruby E November 8, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    might drop by on the 13th as well 🙂


Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 261 other followers


