Filipino Friday: Truncated Feeds

First off, let’s finalize the date for the next meet up. As mentioned in our Facebook group, we’re going to have it on March 12 at Libreria. Let me know who’ll be able to make it and if you plan to join the book swap (details about the swap can be found here).

For this week’s discussion, let’s talk about truncated feeds in readers. Each blogger has the option to only show excerpts or the full post whenever he or she sets up his feeds. When followers subscribe to the blog, they can either see a truncated feed or a full blog post depending on the blogger’s settings. Here are a couple of questions for you guys, do you truncate your feeds or not? Why do you or do you not truncate your feed? Do you think full blog feeds take away visitors from your blog? Does truncating your feed ensure that more people visit your blog and therefore increase your stats?

Thanks for the blogger who suggested this topic! 🙂

ROUNDUP of reviews of books by Filipino authors:
Gege reviews Candido’s Apocalypse by Nick Joaquin over at I Flip Pages
Michelle reviews The Lost Language by Marianne Villanueva over at Artseblis
Michelle reviews Maligayang Pagdating sa Sitio Catacutan by Tony Perez over at Artseblis
Honey reviews Soledad’s Sister by Jose Dalisay, Jr. over at Coffeespoons
Tina reviews Ang Mga Kaibigan ni Mama Susan by Bob Ong over at One More Page
Chris reviews Popped by Chinggay Labrador over at Ficsation
Honey reviews Amazing Grace by Tara FT Sering over at Coffeespoons
Lee interviews Mina V. Esguerra over at From Page One
Chris reviews No Strings Attached by Mina V. Esguerra over at Ficsation
Paolo reviews Over a Cup of Ginger Tea: Conversations on the Literary Narratives of Filipino Women, a collection of essays/articles by Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo over at Rocket Kapre

3 Responses to “Filipino Friday: Truncated Feeds”


  1. 1 Honey February 4, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    Hi, Chachic! I personally don’t truncate my feed. I experimented with it once, though, because I read that it invites people to actually click on your posts and, hence, visit your blog. But, when I really thought about it, I don’t bother much with the truncated feeds. Meaning, I just breeze through them and don’t even read them.

    I read blogs through my Google reader, and when I see something I find really interesting, I click on the post to visit the blog and comment. Sometimes I don’t even leave a comment–I just want to read the interesting post in its original. But when I see truncated feeds, I don’t even bother to read them. I just scroll down quickly. Which, I guess, I have to thank truncated feeds for because it makes me go through my unread posts faster.

    Seriously, though, unless the truncated feed has an awesome title or first line, there is very little chance for me to click it as opposed to full feeds. This is because even if the first part of the full feed doesn’t strike me, often there’s something in the middle or end (could even be a picture) that gets me interested enough to comment.

    I don’t know about other readers, but I know this reader isn’t encouraged to click links of truncated feeds.

  2. 2 Chachic February 4, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    Like Honey, I don’t truncate my posts either because I like reading blog posts in my Google Reader. I only click on posts when I want to comment on them but otherwise, it’s more convenient for me to read posts in just one place. Some blogs are hard to read because of the layout scheme (white font on black background) so it’s better for me to read the posts on Google Reader.

    I usually get discouraged by truncated posts because I get the feeling that the blogger uses that setting to gain more clicks (correct me if I’m wrong) but if the topic is something that I’m really interested in or if I know the blogger personally, then it doesn’t matter, I will probably read the post no matter what. Although I’d really rather read the whole post in just one go.

  3. 3 Jinky February 19, 2011 at 11:51 am

    I do exactly the same as Honey. –btw, where do I find this setting on Blogger? …site feed? Didn’t realize mine was on short so I just changed it to full … is that the right place? …’cause I would like my posts seen in full on Google Reader … didn’t have it short to gain more clicks ’cause the truncated ones actually turn me off unless an eye popping topic/first few lines as Honey mentioned.


Leave a Reply

Kamusta?

Welcome to Filipino Book Bloggers! This is a community of Filipino book bloggers from all over the world. It started out as just a directory but has evolved to include online discussions and meet ups every other month.

FBB in other sites

Books & Literature - Top Blogs Philippines

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers


